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This edition of the Income Tax Newsletter provides a review of the income tax changes made by the 
2019 North Dakota Legislature and the changes made to the 2019 income tax forms to implement them. 
It also provides some filing reminders and other items of interest.

New Military Retirement Pay Exclusion
Starting with the 2019 tax year, a new deduction is available to individuals 
who receive retirement pay benefits as a retired member of the U.S. armed 
forces or its reserve components, the Army National Guard, or the Air National 
Guard. “U.S. armed forces” means the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, 
and Coast Guard. The deduction is also allowed to a surviving spouse of a 
deceased retired service member. Retirement pay benefits received for federal 
civil service employment as a military technician (dual status) are not eligible 
for the deduction. The deduction is equal to the taxable portion of the benefits 
reported on Form 1040 or 1040 SR, line 4d. The deduction is entered on 
Form ND-1, line 14. A copy of the Form 1099-R received from the Defense 
Finance and Accounting Service (DFAS) must be attached to the return.

Retired service members (or their surviving spouses) are still subject to the 
North Dakota filing requirements even if their military retirement pay benefits 
are the only income for the year.

North Dakota tax law does not require income tax to be withheld from 
retirement benefit payments, including military retirement benefits. North 
Dakota income tax is withheld from military retirement benefit payments

only if a service member requested DFAS to do so. To stop the withholding of North Dakota income tax 
from the payments, a service member must submit a written request to DFAS. For more information, go 
to Defense Finance and Accounting Service.  

If North Dakota income tax is withheld from a retired service member’s military retirement pay during 
2019, the service member must file a 2019 North Dakota income tax return to claim it. Whether or not 
all of the amount withheld from the military retirement pay will be refunded will depend on the retired 
servicemember’s tax situation. If the retiree’s only income for the year is the military retirement pay, 
the military retirement pay deduction will result in a zero tax liability, in which case the entire amount 
withheld will be refunded. However, if the retiree also has other types of income on which there is a tax 
liability, part or all of the amount withheld from the military retirement pay may be needed to offset that 
tax liability.

New Social Security Benefit Exclusion
Starting with the 2019 tax year, a new deduction is available to eligible individuals who receive social 
security benefits and part of the benefits are taxable on their federal income tax returns. To be eligible 
for the deduction, the individual’s federal adjusted gross income must be $50,000 or less (or $100,000 
or less if married and filing a joint return). If eligible for the deduction, the deduction is equal to 
the taxable portion of their social security benefits reported on Form 1040 or 1040 SR, line 5b. The 
deduction is entered on Form ND-1, line 15.

New military retirement pay exclusion............... 1
New social security benefit exclusion.................. 1
Change to e-filing requirement for

W-2s and 1099s................................................. 2
New optional contribution to veterans fund....... 2
Expansion of credit for hiring disabled or 
     mentally ill person............................................ 3
New college expense reimbursement
     exclusion............................................................ 3
Reinstatement of stillborn child deduction......... 3
New automation credit......................................... 4
New alternative simplified method for
     calculating research credit.............................. 6
Expansion of nonprofit private school credits.... 6
Changes to new jobs training program............... 7
Changes to 2019 income tax forms...................... 7
Reminders.............................................................. 9
Other items of interest........................................ 10
Assistance............................................................. 12

https://www.dfas.mil/retiredmilitary/manage/taxes/sitw.html


North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner	 Page 2

In the case of married individuals who file a joint return, the portion of social security benefits deducted 
on Form ND-1, line 15, must not be included in qualified income for purposes of calculating the 
marriage penalty credit on Form ND-1, line 22.

Coordination with U.S. Railroad Retirement Board payments.
If an individual receives Tier 1 social security equivalent benefits from the U.S. Railroad Retirement 
Board, which are reported on a Form RRB-1099, they are treated the same as social security benefits 
and are reported on the same lines of the federal income tax return. The portion, if any, of Tier 1 benefits 
that are taxable on the federal income tax return and included on Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 5b, are 
exempt from state income tax under the federal law governing the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board. 
Therefore, the portion of Tier 1 benefits taxed on the federal income tax return are deductible from 
North Dakota taxable income regardless of the amount of the recipient’s federal adjusted gross income. 
Enter any taxable Tier 1 benefits on Form ND-1, line 9.

If an individual receives social security benefits (Form SSA-1099) and Tier 1 benefits 
(Form RRB‑1099), and a taxable amount is reported on Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 5b, determine 
the portion of the taxable amount to deduct on Form ND-1, lines 9 and 15, by multiplying the taxable 
amount by a ratio equal to the gross amount of each type of benefit divided by the gross amount of both 
benefits combined.

Change To E-Filing Requirement For W-2s and 1099s
Starting with the 2019 Forms W-2 and 1099 that are due on January 31, 2020, any person, including 
a payroll service provider, required to file 10 or more Forms W-2 or 10 or more Forms 1099 must file 
them electronically in the manner prescribed by the state tax commissioner. 

While the requirement to electronically file Forms W-2 and 1099 applies to businesses that file 10 or 
more forms for 2019, businesses filing less than 10 forms are encouraged to electronically file them as 
well. Electronically filing these forms can easily be done in one of the following ways:

• Taxpayer Access Point (TAP). File them online through the Office of State Tax Commissioner’s
website by going to ND TAP and following the instructions. If a business does not already have a
TAP account, select “Sign Up For Access.”

• Third-party accounting software. A business may be able to electronically file Forms W-2 and
1099 with North Dakota through its third-party software, such as Quickbooks. A business should
check its accounting software or contact the accounting software provider to see if it provides this
feature.

For questions and assistance, contact the Office of State Tax Commissioner by sending an email to 
withhold@nd.gov or by calling 701.328.1248.

Businesses or other interested persons may sign up to receive email notifications when a newsletter 
or other important information is issued by the Office of State Tax Commissioner. There’s a separate 
update list for each tax type administered by the Tax Commissioner. To sign up, go to www.nd.gov/tax 
and click on “Subscribe” in the lower left-hand side of the web page. For income tax and withholding 
updates in particular, subscribe to the “ND Income Tax” list.

New Optional Contribution To Veterans Fund
A new optional contribution was added to Forms ND-EZ and ND-1 for the support of the Veterans’ 
Postwar Trust Fund. Individuals having a refund or tax due of at least $5 on their income tax return 
may contribute $1 or more to the fund, which will reduce their refund or increase their tax due. Monies 

https://apps.nd.gov/tax/tap/_/
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contributed to the fund are used by the North Dakota Department of Veterans Affairs to fund programs 
and services benefiting veterans and their dependents. For more information on its purposes and 
services, go to ND Department of Veterans Affairs. The contribution is made on Form ND-EZ, line 5 
(refund return) or line 8 (tax due return), or on Form ND-1, line 31 (refund return) or line 35 (tax due 
return).

Expansion Of Credit For Hiring Disabled Or Mentally Ill 
Person
The 2019 North Dakota Legislature changed the income tax law governing the income tax credit for 
hiring a developmentally disabled or chronically mentally ill person, effective only for the 2019 and 
2020 tax years. The changes will expire, and the law will revert back to how it was before the changes, 
starting with the 2021 tax year unless the Legislature amends the law to extend the changes beyond 
2020.

Pre-2019 law. Under the law in effect before the 2019 tax year, an income tax credit was allowed only 
to a C corporation that hired an individual who is developmentally disabled or chronically mentally ill. 
The credit was equal to 5% of the first $6,000 of wages paid to the employee during the first 12 months 
of employment. The credit could not exceed 50% of the corporation’s tax liability.

2019 and 2020 law. Effective for the 2019 and 2020 tax years, an income tax credit is available to all 
taxpayers (not just C corporations) for employing a developmentally disabled or mentally ill individual. 
To qualify, an employer must apply for and obtain from the North Dakota Department of Human 
Services, Vocational Rehabilitation Division, a letter certifying that the individual (1) has a severe 
developmental or mental disability, (2) is eligible for the agency’s services, and (3) requires customized 
employment to become employed. The credit is equal to 25% of the wages paid to the individual during 
the year, up to a maximum credit of $1,500 per year. The credit is allowed for each eligible individual 
hired. The total credit a taxpayer may claim in a year may not exceed 50% of the taxpayer’s tax liability 
before credits. The forms and lines on which the credit is claimed are listed below.

If filing:	 Enter credit on:
Form ND-1 (individual)	 Schedule ND-1TC, line 23
Form 38 (fiduciary)	 Schedule 38-TC, line 19
Form 40 (C corporation)	 Schedule TC or CR, Part III, line 6
Form 58 (partnership)	 Schedule K, line 23
Form 60 (S corporation)	 Schedule K, line 19

New College Expense Reimbursement Exclusion
Starting with the 2019 tax year, a new income tax deduction is available to individuals who receive 
a taxable reimbursement from an employer for expenses paid by the employee for higher education 
or career and technical education. The deduction is equal to the amount of the payment included in 
taxable wages reported in box 1 of the employee’s Form W-2. Any portion of the reimbursement that the 
employee deducts or excludes from federal taxable income is not eligible for the state deduction. The 
deduction is entered on Schedule ND-1SA, line 7.

Reinstatement of stillborn child deduction
In 2017 the North Dakota Legislature created a stillborn child income tax deduction, which was equal 
to the federal dependency exemption amount. However, in 2018, this deduction was rendered unusable 
when the federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 changed the federal dependency exemption amount 
to zero. The 2019 North Dakota Legislature addressed this unforeseen outcome by amending the law 

http://www.nd.gov/veterans/
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to replace the federal dependency exemption amount with a state-prescribed amount and making the 
change retroactive to 2018. The deduction amount for 2018 was set at $4,150.  For tax years 2019 and 
after, this amount will be adjusted annually for inflation. For 2019 the inflation-adjusted deduction 
amount is $4,204.

The deduction is claimed on Schedule ND-1SA, line 5. The parent claiming the deduction will need a 
certified copy of the North Dakota Fetal Death Record (Certification of Fetal Death or Certification of 
Birth Resulting in Stillbirth) from the North Dakota Department of Health, Division of Vital Records. 
The 11-digit certificate number and date of death from the form must be provided on Schedule ND-1SA.

If the parents file separate income tax returns, the deduction is allowed to the parent who would have 
been eligible to claim the child as a dependent on his or her federal income tax return if the child 
had been born alive. For information on who is entitled to a federal dependency exemption, see IRS 
Publication 501.

The parent(s) identified on the fetal death record or other authorized person may obtain a certified copy 
of a North Dakota Fetal Death Record by going to the ND Health Department Vital Records Division. 
It can also be obtained in person at its offices located in the Judicial Wing, State Capitol, First Floor, 
Room 118.

Procedure for claiming deduction on 2018 return
If a qualifying parent filed a 2018 North Dakota income tax return on which there was a tax liability, but 
the parent did not claim the deduction, the parent may claim the deduction in one of the following ways:

• Mail or fax the following to the Office of State Tax Commissioner: (1) Copy of the certificate from
the Division of Vital Records. (2) Letter or note containing the name and social security number
of the parent claiming the deduction and a statement that the parent is providing the information
to claim the stillborn child deduction for the 2018 tax year. Mail to the Office of State Tax
Commissioner, State Capitol, Dept. 127, Bismarck, ND 58505-0599. Or fax to 701.328.1942.

• File an amended 2018 Form ND-1 with a Schedule ND-1SA (Statutory Adjustments). There is no
separate line on the 2018 Schedule ND-1SA for the stillborn child deduction. Enter the amount of
$4,150 on line 4 and write “Stillborn child deduction” on the dotted line to the left of the number.
Attach a copy of the certificate from the North Dakota Division of Vital Records. Mail the amended
return to Office of State Tax Commissioner, State Capitol, Dept. 127, Bismarck, ND 58505-0599.

New Automation Credit
For tax years 2019 through 2022 only, a new income tax credit is available to a primary sector business 
for purchasing new or used machinery or equipment to automate a manufacturing process in North 
Dakota. A primary sector business is a business certified by the North Dakota Department of Commerce, 
Division of Economic Development and Finance (Commerce Department), as one using knowledge or 
labor to add value to a product, process, or service that results in the creation of new wealth in North 
Dakota.

Qualifying purchase
The purchase must upgrade or advance a manufacturing process by improving job quality or increasing 
productivity. A taxpayer must apply to the North Dakota Commerce Department for review and 
approval of the eligibility of the machinery and equipment, which must consist of automation and 
robotic equipment that upgrades or advances a manufacturing process. It does not include equipment 
acquired only to replace existing equipment. A purchase includes an acquisition under a capital lease 
that meets generally accepted accounting principles. 

https://www.health.nd.gov/vital
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The upgrade or advancement of the manufacturing process must result in either improved job quality or 
increased productivity. “Improved job quality” means either (1) a 5 percent increase in average wages or 
(2) a 5 percent improvement in workplace safety as documented through participation in a North Dakota
Workforce Safety and Insurance safety incentive program. “Increased productivity” means a 5 percent
or more increase in either (1) output or (2) number of units produced per automated line per time period.

Amount of credit
The credit is equal to 20 percent of the purchase cost and is allowed in the tax year in which the 
taxpayer takes title to the machinery or equipment. For a capital lease, the cost is the fair market value 
of the machinery or equipment at the inception of the lease. If the credit exceeds the tax liability in the 
first tax year, the excess may be carried over and used on subsequent years’ returns for up to 5 tax years.

In the case of a corporate income tax return filed on a consolidated basis using the combined reporting 
method, a credit earned by any corporation included in the return may be offset against the combined 
tax liabilities of all corporations included in the return.

If the taxpayer is a partnership or other passthrough entity, the credit is computed at the passthrough 
entity level and passed through to the entity’s owners based on their respective ownership interests in 
the entity. 

The forms and lines on which the credit is claimed are listed below.

If filing:	 Enter credit on:
Form ND-1 (individual)	 Schedule ND-1TC, line 22
Form 38 (fiduciary)	 Schedule 38-TC, line 18
Form 40 (C corporation)	 Schedule TC or CR, Part III, line 23
Form 58 (partnership)	 Schedule K, line 22
Form 60 (S corporation)	 Schedule K, line 18

Annual credit limit
The maximum amount of credits allowed for all qualifying purchases by all taxpayers is limited to 
$1 million per calendar year. If the total credits allowed to taxpayers for qualifying purchases made in a 
calendar year are less than the annual $1 million limit for that year, the amount of the unclaimed credits 
remaining under the annual limit are rolled over to the following calendar year, which increases the 
maximum amount of credits available for the following calendar year. If the total credits attributable to 
qualifying purchases during a calendar year exceed the maximum amount of credits available for the 
calendar year, the maximum amount of credits available for the calendar year must be prorated among 
the qualifying taxpayers.

Reporting requirement
Within one year after claiming the credit, a business is required to file with the Office of State Tax 
Commissioner a report documenting the improved job quality or increased productivity and any 
other information that the tax commissioner determines is necessary for administration of the credit. 
Additional information on what will be required to satisfy this reporting requirement will be provided 
on the Office of State Tax Commissioner’s website when available.

Commerce Department application forms
For information on obtaining primary sector business certification and obtaining approval of purchases 
for the automation credit, go to ND Commerce Department Economic Development and Finance 
Division.

https://www.business.nd.gov/finance/
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New Alternative Simplified Method For Calculating 
Research Credit
For tax years 2019 and after, a taxpayer may elect to use an alternative simplified method to calculate 
the North Dakota research income tax credit. Under this method, the credit is equal to the sum of the 
following:

• 17.5% of the first $100,000 of North Dakota alternative excess research and development expenses
for the tax year.

• 5.6% of the North Dakota alternative excess research and development expenses in excess of
$100,000 for the tax year.

“North Dakota alternative excess research and development expenses” means the amount by which 
qualified research expenses incurred in North Dakota exceed 50% of the average qualified research 
expenses incurred in North Dakota for the three tax years preceding the tax year for which the credit is 
being claimed. If the qualified research expense amount is zero in any of the three preceding tax years, 
the credit under the alternative simplified method is 7.5% of the first $100,000 of qualified research 
expenses plus 2.4% of the qualified research expenses in excess of $100,000 for the tax year.

A taxpayer may choose between the regular method and the alternative simplified method on a year-to-
year basis. The method initially used to calculate the North Dakota research credit claimed on the return 
filed for a tax year is binding for that tax year. The alternative simplified method may not be used to 
calculate the North Dakota research credit for any tax year beginning before January 1, 2019.

Expansion Of Nonprofit Private School Credits
The 2019 North Dakota Legislature changed the income tax law governing the income tax credits for 
making contributions to nonprofit private elementary schools, high schools, and colleges in North 
Dakota, effective only for the 2019 and 2020 tax years. The changes will expire, and the law will revert 
back to how it was before the changes, starting with the 2021 tax year unless the Legislature amends the 
law to extend the changes beyond 2020.

Pre-2019 law. The law in effect prior to 2019 allowed the credits to taxpayers other than individuals for 
making direct contributions to qualifying schools. A separate credit is allowed for contributions made to 
schools within each of the three school categories. While an individual was not allowed any credit for 
making a direct contribution, an individual could claim his or her share of a credit received as an owner 
of a partnership or S corporation, or as a beneficiary of an estate or trust.

A partnership, S corporation, estate, or trust passed a credit equal to 50% of direct contributions within 
a school category through to its owners or beneficiaries. A C corporation was allowed a credit equal 
to the lesser of (1) 50% of direct contributions within a school category plus any credit in the same 
category received from a passthrough entity, (2) 20% of the corporation’s tax liability before credits, or 
(3) $2,500. An individual was allowed a credit equal to the lesser of (1) credits within the same school
category received from a passthrough entity, (2) 20% of the individual’s tax liability before credits, or
(3) $2,500.

2019 and 2020 law. Effective for the 2019 and 2020 tax years, the law was expanded to allow the 
credits to individuals for making direct contributions to qualifying schools. In addition, the limitation 
on the credit allowed in a tax year based on a taxpayer’s tax liability before credits was expanded by 
increasing the percentage from 20% to 25%.
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Changes To New Jobs Training Program
The 2019 North Dakota Legislature made changes to the New Jobs Training Program administered by 
Job Service North Dakota. This program provides an incentive for primary sector businesses to create 
new jobs through expansion of operations in, or relocation to, North Dakota. An eligible business may 
enter an agreement under which Job Service will develop and coordinate training of the employees 
filling the new job positions. The program provides a funding mechanism, called the “new jobs credit 
from withholding,” to offset part or all of the employer’s training costs. Under the funding mechanism, 
the North Dakota income tax withheld from the wages paid to the employees filling the new jobs 
identified in the agreement are used to pay for part or all of the training costs. Effective for agreements 
entered into during the period July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2021, no more than $2,500,000 of credits 
may be awarded to eligible businesses.

Effective March 27, 2019, employers that are not primary sector businesses may qualify to participate 
in the New Jobs Training Program if all of the following conditions are met:

• The employer contracts to provide employees to a primary sector business.

• The employer and the primary sector business are parties to the same new jobs training program
services agreement.

• The employer is designated as the recipient of the program services in the new jobs training program
services agreement.

For more information, go to North Dakota New Jobs Training Program.

Changes To 2019 Income Tax Forms
(Note: Items with an asterisk “*” indicate there is a separate article on the subject in this newsletter.)

Individual forms
The following changes were made to Form ND-1 and its supplementary schedules for 2019:  

• Form ND-1
o The line for the housing incentive fund addition adjustment was removed.
o The line for the National Guard / Reserve member federal active duty pay exclusion was moved

from Form ND-1 to Schedule ND-1SA.
o A line was added for the new military retirement pay exclusion (see line 14).*
o A line was added for the new social security benefit exclusion (see line 15).*
o Two lines were added for the new optional contribution to the Veterans Postwar Trust Fund (see

lines 31 and 35). Note: This also applies to Form ND-EZ—see lines 5 and 8. *

• Schedule ND-1SA, Statutory Adjustments
o A line was added for the reinstated stillborn child deduction (see line 5).*
o A line was added for the National Guard / Reserve member federal active duty pay exclusion,

which was removed from Form ND-1 (see line 6).
o A line was added for the new exclusion for a taxable employer reimbursement of college expenses

(see line 7).*

• Schedule ND-1TC, Tax Credits
o The line for the geothermal energy device credit was revised to limit entries to unused credit

carryovers (see line 12). The credit for new installations expired on December 31, 2014, and the
2018 tax year was the last year of the five-year credit period available for installations completed
in the 2014 tax year.

o The line for the automation credit (in effect for the 2014 through 2017 tax years) was revised to
limit entries to unused credit carryovers from those tax years (see line 17).

https://www.jobsnd.com/employer-resources/north-dakota-new-jobs-training-program
https://www.nd.gov/tax/user/individuals/forms--publications/individual-income-tax/forms-instructions-iit/current-year-individual-income-tax-forms--instructions
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o The lines for the credits for making contributions to nonprofit private primary schools, high
schools, and colleges in North Dakota and their instructions were revised to reflect legislative
changes and the creation of a new supplemental schedule on which to calculate the credits—see
Schedule ND-1PSC below.*

o A line was added for the new automation credit in effect for the 2019 through 2022 tax years (see
line 22).*

o A line was added for the new credit for hiring a developmentally disabled or mentally ill person
(see line 23).*

• Schedule ND-1PSC, Nonprofit Private School Credits for Individuals
o This is a new supplemental schedule to Form ND-1. Individuals must complete this schedule to

claim the expanded and revised credits for making charitable contributions to nonprofit private
primary schools, high schools, or colleges located in North Dakota.*

Fiduciary forms
The following changes were made to Form 38 and its supplemental schedules for 2019:

• Schedule CR, Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another State or Local Jurisdiction
o A new line was added on which to enter the name of the state to which income tax was paid.

• Tax Computation Schedule
o The instructions to line 2 (Additions) relating to an electing small business trust (ESBT) were

revised to provide that if the net amount of an ESBT’s income, gains, and losses is negative, enter
the amount as a negative number on line 2.

• Schedule 38-TC, Tax Credits
o The line for the geothermal energy device credit was revised to limit entries to unused credit

carryovers (see line 10). The credit for new installations expired on December 31, 2014, and the
2018 tax year was the last year of the five-year credit period available for installations completed
in the 2014 tax year.

o The lines for the credits for making contributions to nonprofit private primary schools, high
schools, and colleges in North Dakota and their instructions were revised to reflect legislative
changes (see lines 15 through 17).*

o The line for the automation credit (in effect for the 2014 through 2017 tax years) was revised to
limit entries to unused credit carryovers from those tax years (see line 14).

o A line was added for the new automation credit in effect for the 2019 through 2022 tax years (see
line 18).*

o A line was added for the new credit for hiring a developmentally disabled or mentally ill person
(see line 19).*

• Schedule K-1 (Form 38)—Changes were made to the lines on Schedule K-1 corresponding to the
changes made to Schedule 38-TC.

Partnership forms
The following changes were made to Form 58 and its supplemental schedules for 2019:

• Schedule K (Form 58)
o The line for the biomass, geothermal, solar, and wind energy device income tax credits and its

instructions were changed to reflect the general expiration of the credits on December 31, 2014.
The credit for new installations expired on December 31, 2014, and the 2018 tax year was the last
year of the five-year credit period available for installations completed in the 2014 tax year. An
exception applies for a wind device if its installation commenced before January 1, 2015, and it
was completed before January 1, 2017. See line 12.

o A line was added for the new automation credit in effect for the 2019 through 2022 tax years (see
line 22).*

o A line was added for the new credit for hiring a developmentally disabled or mentally ill person
(see line 23).*

https://www.nd.gov/tax/user/businesses/formspublications/fiduciary-tax/forms--instructions---fiduciary/current-year-fiduciary-income-tax-forms--instructions/
https://www.nd.gov/tax/user/businesses/formspublications/s-corp--partnership-tax/forms-instructions-s-corp-part/current-year-partnership--s-corp-income-tax-forms--instructions/
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• Schedule K-1 (Form 58)—Changes were made to the lines on Schedule K-1 corresponding to the
changes made to Schedule K.

S corporation forms
The following changes were made to Form 60 and its supplemental schedules for 2019:
• Schedule K (Form 60)

o The line for the geothermal energy device credit was removed. The credit for new installations
expired on December 31, 2014, and the 2018 tax year was the last year of the five-year credit
period available for installations completed in the 2014 tax year.

o A line was added for the new automation credit in effect for the 2019 through 2022 tax years (see
line 18).*

o A line was added for the new credit for hiring a developmentally disabled or mentally ill person
(see line 19).*

• Schedule K-1 (Form 60)—Changes were made to the lines on Schedule K-1 corresponding to the
changes made to Schedule K.

C corporation forms
On Form 40, Schedule TC (Tax Credits) and Schedule CR, Part III (Tax Credits For Corporations Filing 
a North Dakota Consolidated Return Using the Combined Report Method), a line was added for the 
new automation credit in effect for the 2019 through 2022 tax years (see line 23).*

Reminders

Where’s My Refund?
The Where’s My Refund? tool may be used to check the status of a North Dakota individual income 
tax refund. It shows if a return has been received, is being processed, and the date the refund is issued. 
The tool also allows the user to request an email or text notification when the refund is issued. To see 
how the tool works, see the short video. To use the tool, the user will need the taxpayer’s social security 
number, filing status, and the exact amount of the refund shown on the return. 

Refund information is updated once per day. Allow 24 hours before checking again. There is no need 
to call the Office of State Tax Commissioner unless the “check refund status” says to do so. The 
processing of a refund takes a bit longer than in previous years because of the additional security checks 
built into the system to help prevent tax fraud and ID theft. 

Payment voucher required with payment by check or money order
North Dakota offers several payment options for submitting an estimated tax payment, extension 
payment, or payment of a balance due on a return. For convenience and security, and knowing the 
payment was timely received by our office, electronic payment is encouraged and recommended. 
However, if choosing to pay with a paper check, a payment voucher is required for all income tax 
payment types that are mailed to the Office of State Tax Commissioner. The appropriate payment 
voucher can be obtained by going to Make A Payment.

Most common errors by paper filers
For the fifteen percent of individual income tax filers who still file a paper return, the most common 
errors made on them have not changed much. Any of the following errors may delay the processing of a 
return or, in some cases, result in the return being sent back to the taxpayer:

• Missing a signature. An unsigned return is not complete and will be sent back to the taxpayer for
signing. For married persons filing a joint return, both spouses must sign the return.

https://www.nd.gov/tax/user/businesses/formspublications/s-corp--partnership-tax/forms-instructions-s-corp-part/current-year-partnership--s-corp-income-tax-forms--instructions/
https://www.nd.gov/tax/user/businesses/formspublications/corporate-income-tax/forms--instructions/current-year-corporate-income-tax-forms--instructions/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBfYauuhw7U
https://www.nd.gov/tax/user/individuals/overview/id-theftfraud
https://apps.nd.gov/tax/tap/_/#2
https://www.nd.gov/tax/refund/
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• Missing copy of federal return. A copy of Form 1040 and its required supplemental schedules must
be attached to the state return. Without a copy of the federal return, the state return is incomplete and
will be sent back to the taxpayer.

• Missing a social security number. This number is used to properly identify a taxpayer’s return. For
married persons filing jointly, both spouses’ social security numbers must be provided.

• Math error. This is the most common of all errors on paper returns.

• Missing a Form W-2. A copy of all Form W-2s must be attached. Also attach a copy of any
Form 1099 or North Dakota Schedule K-1 showing North Dakota income tax withholding.

• Insufficient postage. Depending on the number of documents making up the return, additional
postage may be required to mail the return.

If it is necessary to send an incomplete return back to a taxpayer due a missing signature or federal 
return, the return is not considered filed and may result in late filing and payment charges if resubmitted 
after the return’s due date.

Other Items Of Interest

Income tax withholding from wages paid in 2020
The methods for withholding North Dakota income tax from employees’ wages generally have been 
similar to the methods used for federal income tax withholding purposes. This includes reliance 
upon the federal Form W-4. The Internal Revenue Service made significant changes to the federal 
withholding methods, including a complete revision of Form W-4, for 2020. Changes have been made 
to North Dakota’s income tax withholding methods and tables for 2020 that conform in certain respects 
to the federal changes. This includes accommodating the use of either the older versions of Form W-4 
or the new Form W-4 for 2020 and after.

The 2020 North Dakota Income Tax Withholding Rates and Instructions booklet explains how to 
calculate the amount of North Dakota income tax to withhold from employee wages for the 2020 
calendar year. Similar to the federal methods for 2020, the North Dakota methods for calculating the 
withholding amount for an employee will depend on whether or not the employer is working from an 
older Form W-4 or the new Form W-4 for 2020. The booklet contains the following three sections:

• Section 1 - Withholding Methods For Forms W-4 Before 2020
If withholding is based on a Form W-4 (Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate) from before
2020, use the methods and tables in Section 1 of the booklet. The methods in Section 1 are the same
as the methods used in 2019, except that the withholding allowance amount and the withholding
tables have been updated to reflect the inflation-adjusted amounts for 2020.

• Section 2—Withholding Methods For Forms W-4 For 2020 And After
If withholding is based on the new 2020 Form W-4 (Employee’s Withholding Certificate), or if a
newly hired employee has not submitted a Form W-4, use the methods and tables in Section 2 of
the booklet. The methods in Section 2 are set up to accommodate the use of the new Form W-4. The
methods in Section 2 are different from the methods used in 2019.

• Section 3 – Supplemental Wages
The information in Section 3 explains how to withhold from supplemental wages, which may be
used in conjunction with the methods in either Section 1 or Section 2, whichever applies.

Farm residence property tax exemption
Many CPAs and other tax professionals statewide with farm clients will be affected by changes made to 
the farm residence property tax exemption under N.D.C.C. § 57-02-08(15)(b) by the 2019 North Dakota 
Legislature. Senate Bills 2278 and 2360 changed the farm income requirements starting with exemption 

https://www.nd.gov/tax/user/businesses/formspublications/income-tax-withholding/income-tax-withholding-instructions--tables
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applications filed with county assessor offices for the 2020 property tax year. Among the changes is a 
requirement to file a new form called a Statement of Farm Gross Income to show compliance with the 
new farm gross income test. Because the exemption must be renewed each year, this new requirement 
affects existing as well as new claimants.

The new farm gross income test requires that a claimant have annual gross income from farming which 
is 66% or more of the claimant’s annual gross income during either of the two preceding calendar 
years. For applications filed for the 2020 property tax year, this means the claimant must meet the farm 
gross income test in either the 2018 or 2019 calendar year. If the claimant is married, the spouse’s gross 
income must be included in the calculation.

Under the new farm gross income test, farm gross income has the same meaning as that used to 
determine if an individual is considered a farmer under the special estimated tax rules for farmers under 
federal income tax law, which are found in Internal Revenue Code § 6654(i)(2). This means that the 
same income data from the federal income tax return used to determine if an individual is a farmer 
under the federal estimated tax rules must be used to determine if the individual satisfies the farm 
residence exemption’s farm gross income test. For this reason, many farmers may be contacting their 
tax professionals for help in filling out the new Statement of Farm Gross Income.

On the Statement of Farm Gross Income, there are two sections. In the first section on page 1 of the 
form, the total gross income is calculated by aggregating all farm and non-farm items of gross income. 
In the second section on page 2 of the form, farm gross income is calculated by aggregating only the 
items of farm gross income. In both sections, the federal income tax forms and lines where the gross 
income data are to be found are identified to make completion of the form as easy as possible.

The Statement of Farm Gross Income should be submitted along with the application for the farm 
residence exemption, which is due on February 1 of the year for which the exemption is being 
claimed. For the 2020 property tax year, this is February 1, 2020. If the statement cannot be filed 
with the application, it may be submitted separately no later than March 31 of the same year. Both 
the application and the statement must be filed with the assessor’s office for the county in which the 
residence is located.

Because the Statement of Farm Gross Income contains income information from a claimant’s federal 
income tax return, the 2019 legislation  provides that the statement is a confidential record in the 
county’s records.

The 2018 and 2019 versions of the Statement of Farm Gross Income are available on the Office of State 
Tax Commissioner’s website at www.nd.gov/tax. They are provided in a format that allows them to be 
completed online and either printed or saved on the user’s computer. 

For questions and assistance on the farm residence property tax exemption and the new farm gross 
income requirements, contact the assessor or tax equalization director for the county in which the 
residence is located.

Civilian spouse of a U.S. armed forces service member
In late December 2018 Congress passed the Veterans Benefits and Transition Act (P.L. 115-407), which 
the president signed on December 31. This federal legislation amended the Servicemembers Civil 
Relief Act (“SCRA”) (50 U.S.C. 4001) to expand the state income tax protections for civilian spouses 
of U.S. armed forces service members.

Prior to 2009, the SCRA provided a number of protections to U.S. armed forces service members. 
The protections included an exemption from state income tax on military pay earned in states where 
they are stationed but are not legal residents. This was to ease their state income tax obligations that 

https://www.nd.gov/tax/user/individuals/forms--publications/property-tax/forms--instructions
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would otherwise result from their movement in and out of states due only to military orders. In 2009 
Congress passed the Military Spouses Residency Act (P.L. 111-97) to amend the SCRA to provide state 
income tax protections to the civilian spouses of service members. The amendment added the following 
provisions that apply to 2009 and after:

• The legal residence of a civilian spouse does not change when he or she moves from one state to
another if the sole purpose for moving is to live wherever the service member is stationed. (Note:
This provision has been interpreted differently by the states. Some states interpret this as requiring
both the civilian spouse and the service member to have the same state of legal residence. Other
states, including North Dakota, do not require this.)

• A civilian spouse’s income for services performed in a state is exempt from that state’s income
tax if (1) the service member is permanently stationed in the state, (2) the service member and
civilian spouse are not legal residents of the state, and (3) the civilian spouse is in the state only to
be with the service member. (Note: This provision has been interpreted differently by the states.
North Dakota interprets it to mean wages, tips, commissions, and other compensation received for
employment, as reported on federal Form W-2.)

Effective for tax years 2018 and after, the Veterans Benefits and Transition Act further amended the 
SCRA to provide that a civilian spouse may elect to use the same state of legal residence as the service 
member for state income tax purposes for any tax year in which they are married for any part of the 
year.

For more information, see the income tax guideline Civilian Spouses of Military Service Members.

Assistance
For assistance, the following phone numbers and e-mail addresses are provided for your convenience.

General information....................................................................................................... 701.328.7088
Toll free................................................................................................................. 877.328.7088
TDD (ask for 701.328.7088)...............................................................................  800.366.6888
Fax........................................................................................................................ 701.328.3700
E-mail............................................................................................................... taxinfo@nd.gov

Taxpayer services (correction notices, calculation worksheets, information requests).701.328.1242

Individual income tax.................................................................................................... 701.328.1247
E-mail............................................................................................................... individualtax@nd.gov

Partnership, S corporation, trust, and estate income tax................................................ 701.328.1258
E-mail............................................................................................................... individualtax@nd.gov

Corporation income tax.................................................................................................. 701.328.1249
E-mail.........................................................................................................................corptax@nd.gov

Income tax withholding from wages (for employers)...................................................  701.328.1248
E-mail...................................................................................................................... withhold@nd.gov
Income tax withholding from oil and gas royalties....................................................... 701.328.1247
E-mail............................................................................................................... individualtax@nd.gov

Collections (tax due statements, lien notices, payment plans)......................................  701.328.1244

Business registration...................................................................................................... 701.328.1241
E-mail............................................................................................................. taxregistration@nd.gov

Additional contact information can be found on the Office of State Tax Commissioner’s website at
www.nd.gov/tax under Contact Us.

https://www.nd.gov/tax/user/individuals/overview/military-service-members/
https://www.nd.gov/tax/about/contact-us
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