CONTRACTOR COMPLIANCE CHECK LIST

SECRETARY OF STATE

Contractors working on any project where the cost, value, or price per

job or contract exceeds $4,000.00 must hold a North Dakota Contractors

License. To process a contractor’s license, the following need to be

completed and submitted to the Secretary of State’s office. Please allow

adequate time for processing as the requirements arrive from several

agencies.

1. Register the business entity with the Secretary of State.

2. Complete and submit a Contractor’s Application.

3. Provide a copy of a certificate of insurance indicating liability
coverage as proof that the applicant has secured liability insurance.

4. Provide a statement from Workforce Safety & Insurance that the

contractor has secured workers’ compensation coverage.

Pay the appropriate filing fee.

W

S ecretary of State

NORTH DAKOTA

Licensing Unit

600 E Boulevard Ave, Dept 108
Bismarck, ND 58505-0500

sos.nd.gov/business/contractors

Email: sosadlic@nd.gov

701.328.3665
800.352.0867 ext. 328.3665
TTY: 800.366.6888

Fax: 701.328.1690

6. In addition to a contractor’s license, you may need to obtain other licenses or permits as required

by law.

*  For example, licenses issued by the State Electrical Board, State Plumbing Board, an Asbestos
Abatement License issued by the North Dakota Department of Health, or a Transient Merchant

License issued by the Attorney General.

NEW BUSINESS REGISTRATION WEBSITE

To learn more about doing business in North Dakota, to access the necessary forms, or to find links
to various agencies, visit the New Business Registration website: www.nd.gov/businessreg

WORKFORCE SAFETY & INSURANCE

North Dakota law, with limited exceptions, requires all employers to

secure workers’ compensation insurance to cover their full-time, part-time,

seasonal, or occasional employees prior to hiring.

1. To be insured, complete and submit application for workers’
compensation insurance. Apply online at www.workforcesafety.com.

2. Upon receipt of payment, a Certificate of Premium Payment will be
issued as proof of workers’ compensation insurance coverage. Post
certificate at place of business.

JOB SERVICE NORTH DAKOTA

North Dakota

WSI Workforce Safety & Insurance

Main Office- Bismarck

1600 E Century Ave, Suite 1
Bismarck, ND 58503-0644

www. WorkforceSafety.com
Email: ndwsi@nd.gov

701.328.3800
800.777.5033
Fax: 701.328.3750

State law requires employers to provide unemployment insurance coverage

for their workers if they meet certain criteria.

1. To determine if unemployment insurance coverage is required, complete
and file a Report to Determine Liability within 20 days after first
employing workers.

2. Ifunemployment insurance coverage is required, the submittal of
quarterly Employer’s Contribution and Wage Reports is required.

3. Contractors working on any project with an estimated construction cost
of at least $50 million will fall under unemployment insurance bonding
requirements. Information relating to these bonding requirements can be
found at www.jobsnd.com/unemployment-business/comply-construction-
project-risk-protection

JOB &,

SERVICE W/
North Dakota w"™

Bismarck Office
1000 E Divide Ave

PO Box 5507
Bismarck, ND 58506-5507

www,jobsnd.com
Email: jsuits@nd.gov
701.328.2814

Fax: 701.328.1882

4. Forms and instructions can be found online at: www.jobsnd.com/unemployment-business/forms



CONTRACTOR COMPLIANCE CHECK LIST

ﬁ OFFICE OF ATTORNEY GENERAL

The State of North Dakota requires those who conduct temporary business
within this state to obtain a Transient Merchant’s License from the
Attorney General’s Office.

1.

2.
3.

7.

Complete and submit the appropriate application form — Individual
Application or Corporation, LLC, Etc Application.

Pay license fee of $200.

Present photocopy of North Dakota Sales Tax Permit, if needed.
Present list of all employees doing business in North Dakota including
name, home address and telephone number, and a signed photograph.
Be properly registered with the North Dakota Secretary of

State’s Office.

Obtain a surety bond in the amount set by the Office of Attorney
General and provide information on transient merchant bond form.

Licensing Division

600 E Boulevard Ave, Dept 125
Bismarck, ND 58505-0040

www.ag.nd.gov
Select “Licensing”

701.328.2329

Licensing information is available online at: www.ag.nd.gov/Licensing/Licensing.htm

| OFFICE OF STATE TAX COMMISSIONER

1.

An employer is required to withhold North Dakota income tax from
wages paid to an employee if the employee performs services within
North Dakota and the wages are subject to income tax withholding.
* Complete and submit an Application to Register for Income Tax
Withholding and Sales and Use Tax Permit from the Office of
State Tax Commissioner.
* The same application may be used to register for a sales and
use tax permit if you also need the permit.
Any retail business that sells taxable goods or services and contractors
that have a use tax liability are required to register for a sales tax
permit and file sales and use tax returns with the Tax Commissioner’s
Office. This includes:

NDE )

NORTH DAKOTA
Registration

600 E Boulevard Ave, Dept 127
Bismarck, ND 58505-0599

www.nd.gov/tax
Email: taxregistration@nd.gov

701.328.1241
877.328.7088

» Contractors that install or consume property in North Dakota and other businesses including retail
and service businesses that bring property into North Dakota for their own use may have a use tax

liability.

* Goods brought into North Dakota for storage, use, or consumption may be subject to

North Dakota and applicable local use tax.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

1.

State law requires the issuance of temporary motor vehicle

registrations for out of state vehicles operated by individuals
gainfully employed in the state of North Dakota.

* The temporary registration permits are issued for a six or twelve
month period.

* A temporary registration is required if the individual lives or
temporarily stays here for the purpose of employment regardless
of domicile.

* Out of state vehicles requiring temporary registration include
passenger cars, pickups, vans, motorcycles and trucks not
registered in the International Registration Plan.

NDDO'T,
North Dakota / o
Department of Transportation

Motor Vehicle - Central Office

608 E Boulevard Ave
Bismarck, ND 58505

www.dot.nd.gov
Email: mv@nd.gov

701.328.2725

2. The registrations are available at Motor Vehicle Branch offices or online at www.dot.nd.gov.

3.

For locations and hours of all Motor Vehicle branch offices, visit:
www.dot.nd.gov/public/licensing.htm



