

NORTH DAKOTA OFFICE OF STATE TAX COMMISSIONER **GUIDELINE - ALCOHOL TAX: MANUFACTURING DISTILLERIES**

The North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner is responsible for the administration of North Dakota Century Code (N.D.C.C.) Title 5 laws relating to the licensing, taxation, and regulation of manufacturing distilleries in North Dakota. A distillery located in North Dakota may apply for a North Dakota Manufacturing Distillery License under N.D.C.C. § 5-01-19.2.

LICENSING

The North Dakota Manufacturing Distillery License is an annual license which allows the manufacture and sale of distillery products at a licensed manufacturing premises and grants certain wholesale privileges. A manufacturing distillery may not manufacture distilled products outside its manufacturing premises.

The first step in becoming a licensed North Dakota manufacturing distillery is to obtain a Basic Permit under the Federal Alcohol Administration Act from the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) at (www.ttb.gov/business-tools/gualify-with-ttb). After the Federal Basic Permit is received, the business may apply for a North Dakota Manufacturing Distillery License, which is included in the Alcohol License Application at www.tax.nd.gov/AlcoholLicenseApplication. The following items must be submitted with the completed application:

- A copy of the federal basic permit issued by the TTB.
- A blueprint or diagram of the premises to be licensed.
- A copy of the business' organizational documents, i.e., articles of organization, LLC operating agreement, or partnership agreement.
- \$100 annual license fee for the manufacturing location.
- \$100 annual license fee for the satellite retail location, if one is to be established.
- A North Dakota Sales and Use Permit application or proof of application (www.tax.nd.gov/apply).
 - o Once issued, the North Dakota sales and use permit does not expire. It stays active until closed by the manufacturing distillery or revoked by the Office of State Tax Commissioner.

North Dakota Manufacturing Distillery Licenses are annual licenses with a December 31 expiration date. The renewal process will be completed through the taxpayer's North Dakota Taxpayer Access Point (ND TAP) account, with a notification being sent in November. License renewals must be submitted to the Office of State Tax Commissioner before December 1 for the licensed premises to maintain continuous operations.

Failure to comply with any N.D.C.C. Title 5 provisions, or any other statute or regulation related to manufacturing distilleries, can result in the suspension, revocation, or non-renewal of your North Dakota Manufacturing Distillery license. A manufacturing distillery is entitled to an administrative hearing before its license may be suspended, revoked, or denied for renewal.



In addition to the Federal Basic Permit, the North Dakota Manufacturing Distillery License and the North Dakota Sales, Use, and Gross Receipts Tax Permit, a manufacturing distillery must obtain a retail alcohol license to sell or dispense alcoholic beverages at their manufacturing location. Retail alcohol licenses are available from the North Dakota Attorney General, county, and city government agencies.

If a manufacturing distillery produces more than 40,000 gallons within a year, they will need to apply for a general North Dakota Manufacturer license.

OPERATING ACTIVITIES

North Dakota licensed manufacturing distilleries may engage in the following activities as allowed by N.D.C.C. Title 5:

- Produce no more than 40,000 gallons (151,416 liters) of manufactured domestic spirits per year.
- Sell the manufactured spirits to individuals at the manufacturing distillery's licensed premises.
- Sell the manufactured spirits to individuals at a special event held on site, off the premises, or at its satellite location, if a special event permit license is obtained from the Office of State Tax Commissioner.
- Sell and direct ship the manufactured spirits to individuals within North Dakota and individuals outside North Dakota if the manufacturing distillery is compliant with the receiving state's laws.
- Sell the manufactured spirits to licensed North Dakota wholesalers.
- Sell the manufactured spirits to out-of-state wholesalers if the manufacturing distillery is compliant with the receiving state's laws.
- If the manufacturing distillery produces no more than 12,000 proof gallons (45,425 liters) annually, it may sell and deliver up to 200 cases of no more than 2.38 gallons (9 liters) each, per year, to retailers as follows:
 - o Onsite.
 - o Delivered offsite using the manufacturing distillery's own trucks, equipment, and employees.
 - o Shipped to a retailer by a licensed distributor.
 - o Shipped and delivered by a common carrier in individual shipments of no more than 3 cases (27 liters) per retailer, per day, from the manufacturing distillery or the manufacturing distillery's warehouse.
- Sell alcoholic beverages at a satellite location owned or leased by the manufacturing distillery, that may include a restaurant, if a retail alcohol license is obtained.

Manufacturing Distillery Special Event Permits - A North Dakota licensed manufacturing distillery may receive special event permits for no more than 40 events per calendar year from the Office of State Tax Commissioner. A Manufacturing Distillery Special Event Permit, subject to local ordinance, allows a manufacturing distillery to give free samples of its product and to sell its product by the glass or in closed containers at events held on the premises, off the premises, and at its satellite location. Applications for a Manufacturing Distillery Special Event Permit should be submitted to the Office of State Tax Commissioner through ND TAP (www.tax.nd.gov/tap) at least 10 days prior to the start of the event to ensure review and approval of the requested event.



A special event may not be in excess of 15 days in duration and may not be consecutive. Special events held at the manufacturing distillery's satellite location do not count toward the 40 event per calendar year limit and may be consecutive.

Manufacturing distilleries and their satellite locations participating in or conducting a special event must comply with any other state or local laws, ordinances, or requirements associated with the provision or sale of alcoholic beverages.

TAX REPORTING AND RECORD KEEPING

Wholesale Excise Tax – The spirits manufactured and sold or provided as free samples by a manufacturing distillery are subject to the wholesale excise tax imposed under N.D.C.C. § 5-03-07. A manufacturing distillery must report and pay wholesale excise taxes due on all spirits sold by the licensee at retail, including spirits shipped directly to consumers. This tax must be paid to the Office of State Tax Commissioner annually. The amount of this tax shall be determined by the gallonage at the following rates:

• Distilled spirits – per wine gallon: \$2.50 (\$0.66 per liter).

Sales, Use, and Gross Receipts Tax – A retail sale of spirits by a manufacturing distillery is subject to North Dakota's alcoholic beverage gross receipts tax of 7% and applicable local gross receipts and local lodging and restaurant taxes. Information on North Dakota local sales, use, gross receipts, and lodging taxes is available at **www.tax.nd.gov/LocalTaxes**.

A manufacturing distillery selling additional items of tangible personal property, such as glasses, openers, carafes, literature, or other bar accessories, must collect state sales tax of 5% and applicable local sales tax on these sales. Local gross receipts taxes and local sales taxes are calculated at the point of sale, which is the location where the purchaser consumes or takes possession of the goods.

A manufacturing distillery that purchases equipment or other tangible personal property for storage, use, or consumption in North Dakota from a seller that did not collect sales tax on the purchase, must remit state and local use tax on the retail selling price which includes delivery charges of the items.

A manufacturing distillery that operates a restaurant at the satellite location must collect and remit sales, use, gross receipts, and local lodging and restaurant taxes.

Reporting Schedules and Returns – A manufacturing distillery must complete and submit the following reporting forms to the Office of State Tax Commissioner. The Schedule A and Schedule J reports must be filed electronically through ND TAP (www.tax.nd.gov/tap). The following forms and instructions are available at www.tax.nd.gov/AlcoholTax.

<u>Monthly Reports - Schedule A</u>: This is a monthly report for any sales a manufacturing distillery makes to a North Dakota wholesaler. The Schedule A report due date is the last day of the month following the month of sale. Zero reports are not required for the Schedule A. This report is required to be submitted electronically on ND TAP (www.tax.nd.gov/tap).



<u>Annual Reports - Schedule J</u>: An annual report for a manufacturing distillery to report its production and sales activities for the calendar year. The Schedule J report due date is January 15 of the year following the year of production and sales activities. This report is required to be submitted electronically on ND TAP (www.tax.nd.gov/tap).

<u>Sales, Use, & Gross Receipts Tax Return</u>: A periodic return to report state and applicable local sales, use, and gross receipts tax. The periodic filing frequency is assigned at the time of registration. The due date is the last day of the month following the period end date. This form may be filed through ND TAP (**www.tax.nd.gov/tap**).

<u>Local Lodging and Local Lodging and Restaurant Tax Return</u>: A periodic return to report applicable local lodging and restaurant tax collected for on-sale alcohol sales and food sales made at the licensed satellite location. The periodic filing frequency is assigned at the time of registration. The due date is the last day of the month following the period end date. This form may be filed through ND TAP (www.tax.nd.gov/tap).

Record Keeping – A manufacturing distillery must maintain detailed records for all manufacturing. Detailed records must also be kept for produced spirits sold both on the manufacturing distillery premises, at any satellite location owned or leased by the manufacturing distillery licensee, and on any restaurant owned by the manufacturing distillery licensee and located at that distillery's satellite location. Detailed records must also be maintained for every invoice sold to wholesalers and retailers.

AUDIT

The Office of State Tax Commissioner may make an examination of the books and premises of any manufacturing distillery to determine if the manufacturing distillery has fully complied with all statutes and rules pertaining to manufacturing distilleries.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Please visit Alcohol Tax at **www.tax.nd.gov/AlcoholTax** for more information on North Dakota alcohol taxes. If you have questions, please contact our office at **alcoholtax@nd.gov** or 701-328-2702.



24157 06/2025