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Required forms
The following forms are needed to complete Form 58:

Form 58 Partnership return

Schedule FACT Calculation of North Dakota apportionment factor

Schedule K Total North Dakota adjustments, credits, and other
items distributable to partners

Schedule KP Partner information

Schedule K-1 Partner’s share of North Dakota income (loss), deductions,
adjustments, credits, and other items

The following forms may be needed:

Form 58-PV Partnership return payment voucher

Form 58-EXT Partnership extension payment voucher

Form 101 Application for extension of time to file a North Dakota
income tax return

Form PWA Passthrough entity withholding adjustment

Form PWE Nonresident passthrough entity member exemption and
certification

Download these forms from our website at www.nd.gov/tax.

Taxpayer Bill of Rights

Obtain a copy of the North Dakota Taxpayer Bill of Rights on the
Office of State Tax Commissioner’s website at
www.nd.gov/tax

Need help?

You can download forms and find other
information on our website at:

www.nd.gov/tax

Email

Individual, estate, trust, partnership,
and S corporation income tax—

individualtax@nd.gov

Call
Individual income tax—
Questions 701.328.1247
Forms 701.328.1243
Partnership income tax—
Questions 701.328.1258
Forms 701.328.1243
Speech/hearing impaired
TDD 800.366.6888
Write

Office of State Tax Commissioner
600 E. Boulevard Ave., Dept. 127
Bismarck, ND 58505-0599

Walk-in service
State Capitol, 16th Floor
Monday through Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
(except holidays)

Privacy Act Notification

In compliance with the Privacy Act of 1974,
disclosure of a Federal Employer Identification
Number (FEIN) or social security number

on this form is required under N.D.C.C.

§§ 57-01-15 and 57-38-42, and will be

used for tax reporting, identification, and
administration of North Dakota tax laws.
Disclosure is mandatory. Failure to provide
the FEIN or social security number may delay
or prevent the processing of this form.



Changes affecting partnerships
Developments, updates, and items of interest relating to partnership income tax

New automation credit

For tax years 2019 through 2022 only, a
new income tax credit is available to a
primary sector business for purchasing
new or used automation and robotic
machinery and equipment. The purchases
must upgrade or advance a manufacturing
process by improving job quality or
increasing productivity. A taxpayer must
apply to the North Dakota Commerce
Department for a review and approval of
the purchases.

The credit is 20% of the purchase cost.

The maximum credits allowed to all
taxpayers is $1 million per calendar year.

If total credits claimed in a year exceed

$1 million, the available credits are
prorated among the qualifying taxpayers.
Based on Commerce Department-approved
purchases, the State Tax Commissioner will
calculate the allowable credit and issue a
credit certification letter to each taxpayer.
A partnership or other passthrough entity
passes the credit through to its owners. An
unused credit may be carried over up to five
tax years.

Within one year of claiming the credit, a
taxpayer must file a report prescribed by
the State Tax Commissioner to document
the improved job quality or increased
productivity. See Form 58, Schedule K,
line 22.

New disabled or mentally ill
person employment credit

For tax years 2019 and 2020 only, an
income tax credit is available for employing
a developmentally disabled or mentally

ill individual. To qualify, an employer
must apply for and obtain from the North
Dakota Department of Human Services,
Vocational Rehabilitation Division, a

letter certifying that the individual has a
severe developmental or mental disability,
is eligible for the agency’s services, and
requires customized employment to
become employed. The credit is 25% of the
wages paid to the individual during the tax
year, up to a maximum credit of $1,500 per
year. The credit is allowed for each eligible
individual hired. A partnership or other
passthrough entity passes the credit through
to its owners. The credit may not offset
more than 50% of a taxpayer’s tax liability

(before credits), and an unused credit may
not be used in any other year. See Form 58,
Schedule K, line 23.

New alternative simplified
research credit

For tax years 2019 and after, a taxpayer
may elect to use an alternative simplified
method to calculate the North Dakota
research income tax credit. Under this
method, the credit is equal to 17.5% of the
first $100,000 of North Dakota alternative
excess research and development expenses
plus 5.6% of the amount in excess of
$100,000.

“North Dakota alternative excess research
and development expenses” means the
amount by which qualified research
expenses incurred in North Dakota exceed
50% of the average qualified research
expenses incurred in North Dakota for

the three tax years preceding the tax year
for which the credit is being claimed.
Regardless of the method used to calculate
the federal research income tax credit, a
taxpayer may choose on a year-to-year
basis to use either the regular method or the
alternative simplified method to calculate
the North Dakota credit. Once chosen, the
method is binding for the tax year.

If a taxpayer has zero qualified research
expenses (as defined for purposes of the
regular research credit calculation) in any
of the three preceding tax years, the credit
is equal to 7.5% of the first $100,000 of
qualified research expenses plus 2.4% of
the amount in excess of $100,000.

See Form 58, Schedule K, line 7.

Revised nonprofit private
school credits

Prior law. Pre-2019 tax law provided

an income tax credit to taxpayers other
than individuals for making a charitable
contribution to nonprofit private primary
schools, high schools, and colleges in North
Dakota. A separate credit is allowed for
each school category. While an individual
was not allowed a credit for a direct
contribution, an individual could claim a
credit received from a partnership or other
passthrough entity that made a qualifying
contribution.

Passthrough entities passed a credit

(equal to 50% of contributions within a
school category) through to their owners.
C corporations were allowed a credit

equal to the lesser of (1) 50% of direct
contributions within a school category plus
any credit in the same category received
from a passthrough entity, (2) 20% of the
corporation’s tax liability before credits,

or (3) $2,500. For individuals, a credit

was calculated in the same manner as for a
C corporation except that only credits from
passthrough entities could be considered.
An unused credit may not be used in any
other tax year.

New law. For tax years 2019 and 2020
only, an individual is allowed a credit for
direct contributions to a qualifying school.
Also, the tax liability limitation on the
credit was increased from 20% to 25%.
Unless changed by the legislature, the law
will revert to how it was prior to 2019
starting with the 2021 tax year.

See Form 58, Schedule K, lines 18 through
20.

Changes to 2019 partnership
forms

On Form 58, Schedule K, the following
changes were made:

* Line 12 was changed to reflect
the general expiration of the
biomass, geothermal, solar, and
wind energy device income tax
credit on December 31, 2014. An
exception applies for a wind device
if its installation commenced before
January 1, 2015, and was completed
before January 1, 2017. See instructions
to Schedule K, line 12, for more
information.

* Two new lines were added for the new
automation credit (line 22) and the new
disabled or mentally ill employment
credit (line 23). See separate articles on
this page.

On Schedule K-1 (Form 58), Part 3, line
changes were made corresponding to the
line changes on Schedule K of Form 58.
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Form 58 Instructions

North Dakota Partnership Income Tax Return

“N.D.C.C."” references are to the North Dakota Century Code, which contains North Dakota’s statutes.
“N.D. Admin. Code” references are to the North Dakota Administrative Code, which contains North Dakota’s rules.

2019

General
instructions

Who must file

A 2019 Form 58, Partnership Income Tax
Return, must be filed by a partnership that
meets both of the following:

e TItisrequired to file a 2019 Form 1065,
U.S. Return of Partnership Income.

» It carries on business, or derives gross
income from sources, in North Dakota
during the 2019 tax year.

Investment partnership. A partnership

that elects out of the partnership rules under
IL.R.C. § 761(a)(1) and does not file a federal
partnership return must file a 2019 Form 58
if it carries on investment activity, or derives
any gross income from sources, in North
Dakota during its 2019 tax year. A 2019

Form 1065 must be completed on a pro forma
basis and attached to Form 58.

Limited liability company (LLC). A limited
liability company that is classified as a
partnership for federal income tax purposes
is treated like a partnership for North Dakota
income tax purposes and must file Form 58 if
it meets the above conditions for filing.

Nonfiler penalty. If a partnership does

not file Form 58 as required, a minimum
$500 penalty may be assessed if the failure
continues after receiving a thirty-day
notice to file from the Office of State Tax
Commissioner.

Disaster recovery tax exemptions.
Exemptions from state and local tax filing
and payment obligations are available to
out-of-state businesses and their employees
who are in North Dakota on a temporary basis
for the sole purpose of repairing or replacing
natural gas, electrical, or telecommunication
transmission property that is damaged, or
under threat of damage, from a state- or
presidentially-declared disaster or emergency.
For more information, go to www.nd.gov/tax.

When and where to file

The 2019 Form 58 must be filed on or before
(1) April 15, 2020, if filing for the 2019
calendar year, or (2) the 15th day of the 4th
month following the end of the tax year,

if filing for a fiscal year beginning in the
2019 calendar year. If the due date falls on a
Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the return may
be filed on or before the next day that is not a
Saturday, Sunday, or holiday.

Note: Use the 2018 Form 58 if filing
for a fiscal year beginning in the 2018
calendar year.

Mail Form 58 and all required attachments to:

Office of State Tax Commissioner
600 East Boulevard Ave., Dept. 127
Bismarck, ND 58505-0599

Extension of time to file
An extension of time to file Form 58 may be
obtained in one of the following ways:

* Obtain a federal extension.

» Separately apply for a North Dakota
extension.

Federal extension. If an extension of time to
file the federal partnership return is obtained,
it is automatically accepted as an extension of
time to file Form 58. If this applies, a separate
North Dakota extension does not have to

be applied for, nor does the Office of State
Tax Commissioner have to be notified that

a federal extension has been obtained prior

to filing Form 58. The extended due date for
North Dakota purposes is the same as the
federal extended due date.

North Dakota extension. If a federal
extension is not obtained, but additional
time is needed to complete and file Form 58,
a separate North Dakota extension may be
applied for by filing Form 101, Application
for Extension of Time to File a North
Dakota Tax Return. This is not an automatic
extension—there must be good cause to
request a North Dakota extension. Form 101
must be postmarked on or before the due
date of Form 58. Notification of whether
the extension is accepted or rejected will

be provided by the Office of State Tax
Commissioner.

Extension interest. If Form 58 is filed on or
before the extended due date, and the total
amount of tax due is paid with the return, no
penalty will be charged. Interest on the tax
due will be charged at the rate of 12% per
year from the original due date of the return
to the earlier of the date the return is filed or
the extended due date.

Prepayment of tax due. If an extension
of time to file Form 58 is obtained, any

tax expected to be due may be paid on or
before the regular due date to avoid paying
extension interest. For more information,
including payment options, obtain the 2019
Form 58-EXT.

Alternatively, a check or money order may be
sent with a letter containing the following: (1)
name of partnership, (2) partnership’s FEIN,
(3) partnership’s address and phone number,
and (4) statement that the payment is a 2019
Form 58-EXT payment.

Penalty and interest

If an extension of time to file Form 58 was
obtained, the tax due may be paid by the
extended due date of the return without
penalty, but extension interest will apply—see
“Extension interest” and “Prepayment of tax
due” on this page.

If Form 58 is filed by its due date (or
extended due date), but the total amount

of tax due is not paid by the due date (or
extended due date), a penalty equal to 5% of
the unpaid tax or $5.00, whichever is greater,
must be paid.

If Form 58 is filed after its due date (or
extended due date), and there is an unpaid tax
due on it, a penalty equal to 5% of the unpaid
tax due or $5.00, whichever is greater, for

the month the return was due plus 5% of the
unpaid tax due for each additional month (or
fraction of a month) during which the return
remains delinquent must be paid. This penalty
may not exceed 25% of the tax due.

In addition to any penalty, interest must be
paid at the rate of 1% per month or fraction
of a month, except for the month in which

the tax was due, on any tax due that remains
unpaid after the return’s due date (or extended
due date).



Estimated tax payment
(for 2020)

A partnership may, but is not required to,
make estimated income tax payments. For
more information, including payment options,
obtain the 2020 Form 58-ES.

Withholding from

nonresident partners

A partnership must withhold North Dakota
income tax at the rate of 2.90% from the
year-end distributive share of North Dakota
income of a nonresident partner. See
“Publicly traded partnership” on this page for
an exception to this requirement.

Nonresident partner. For purposes of this
withholding requirement, a nonresident
partner means:

e an individual who is not domiciled in
North Dakota;

* atrust, including a grantor trust, that is
not organized under North Dakota law.
This only includes trusts that are subject to
income tax; or

 a passthrough entity that has a commercial
domicile outside North Dakota. A
passthrough entity includes a partnership,
S corporation, limited liability company
treated like a partnership or S corporation,
and any other similar entity.

Exemption from withholding. No

withholding is required if any of the following

apply:

» The distributive share of North Dakota
income is less than $1,000.

+ The nonresident partner elects to include
the distributive share in a composite
filing—see “Composite filing” on this
page.

* The nonresident partner is a passthrough
entity and elects exemption from
withholding on its distributive share
of North Dakota income. For more
information, obtain Form PWE.

Withholding procedure. This withholding
requirement applies to a nonresident partner’s
year-end distributive share of North Dakota
income, which is determined at the end

of the partnership’s tax year and reported

on Form 58, Schedule KP, Column 6.

The requirement does not apply to actual
distributions made to a nonresident partner
during the tax year. The withholding amount
is calculated and reported on Schedule KP,

Column 7. If a nonresident partner meets
certain conditions, an amount less than the
amount calculated at the 2.90% tax rate may
be withheld. For the qualifying conditions,
see Form PWA. A partnership must submit a
payment for the total amount of withholding
reported on Schedule KP, Column 7, with
Form 58 when it is filed.

Publicly traded partnership. A publicly
traded partnership, as defined under Internal
Revenue Code § 7704(b), does not have to
withhold North Dakota income tax from its
unitholders if it meets both of the following:

» Itis treated as a partnership for federal
income tax purposes.

» It reports on Form 58, Schedule KP,
every unitholder with a North Dakota
distributive share of income of over $500.

Composite filing

A composite filing method is available to

a partnership with one or more eligible
nonresident partners. Under this method,

a partnership calculates the North Dakota
income tax on an eligible nonresident
partner’s year-end distributive share of
North Dakota income and pays the tax

with Form 58. The tax is calculated at the
highest individual income tax rate (which

is 2.90% for the 2019 tax year), and no
adjustments, deductions, or tax credits are
allowed in calculating the tax. A composite
filing satisfies the North Dakota income tax
filing and payment obligations of the eligible
nonresident partners included in it, which
means they do not have to separately file their
own North Dakota income tax returns. The
composite filing method is optional and does
not require prior approval from the Office of
State Tax Commissioner, and a choice to use
it may be made on a year-to-year basis.

Eligible nonresident partner. For purposes
of this composite filing method, a nonresident
partner has the same meaning as that used

for withholding income tax from nonresident
partners—see “Withholding from nonresident
partners” on this page. A nonresident partner
is eligible to be included in a composite filing
if both of the following apply:

* The nonresident partner’s only source of
income within North Dakota is one or
more passthrough entities. A passthrough
entity includes a trust, partnership, S
corporation, limited liability company
treated like a partnership or S corporation,
and any other similar entity.

* The nonresident partner elects to be
included in a composite filing. An
election is indicated by the partnership’s

calculation and reporting of a tax

amount for the nonresident partner on
Form 58, Schedule KP, Column 8. (If the
distributive share is a loss, the tax is zero.)

The distributive share of North Dakota
income included in a composite return is
subject to tax even if it is under $1,000.

Composite filing method procedure.

The tax under the composite filing method

is calculated and reported on Form 58,
Schedule KP, Column 8. A partnership must
submit a payment for the total tax reported on
Schedule KP, Column 8, with Form 58 when
it is filed.

Correcting a previously filed

return

If a partnership needs to correct an error on
Form 58 after it is filed, the partnership must
file an amended return. There is no special
form for this purpose. See “How to prepare an
amended 2019 return” below.

If a partnership paid too much tax because of
an error on its 2019 Form 58, the partnership
generally has three years from the due date
of the return (excluding extensions) or the
date the return was actually filed, whichever
is later, in which to file an amended return

to claim a refund of the overpayment. See
N.D.C.C. § 57-38-40 for other time periods
that may apply.

How to prepare an amended 2019 return

1. Obtain a blank 2019 Form 58.

2. Enter the partnership’s name, current
address, FEIN, etc., in the top portion of
page 1 of Form 58.

3. Fill in the “Amended return” circle at the
top of page 1 of Form 58.

4. Complete Schedules FACT, K, and KP
using the corrected information. However,
unless there is an increase in the amount
reported on Schedule KP, Column 6, of
the amended return, enter on Schedule KP,
Column 7, the same amount reported on
the previously filed return. Then complete
lines 1 through 3 on page 1 of Form 58.

5. Online 5 of page 1 of Form 58, enter the
total taxes due from the previously filed
2019 Form 58, page 1, line 3.

6. Complete line 7 (overpayment) or line 10
(tax due), whichever applies. If there is
an overpayment on line 7, enter the full
amount on line 9 (refund). On an amended
return, the amount credited to the next



year’s estimated tax (line 8) may not be
increased or decreased.

7. Attach a statement explaining the
reason(s) for filing the amended return.
If it is because of changes the partnership
or the IRS made to the partnership’s 2019
Federal Form 1065, attach a copy of the
amended federal return or IRS notice.

8. Complete and provide a corrected
Schedule K-1 (Form 58) to the partners, as
required.

Reporting federal changes

If the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) changes
or audits the federal partnership return, or

if a partnership files an amended federal
partnership return, an amended North Dakota
Form 58 must be filed within ninety days after
the final determination of the IRS changes

or the filing of the amended federal return.
Enclose a copy of the IRS audit report or the
amended federal partnership return with the
amended North Dakota Form 58.

W-2/1099 reporting
requirement

Every partnership doing business in North
Dakota that is required to file Federal

Form 1099 or W-2 must also file one with the
Office of State Tax Commissioner. For more
information, obtain the guideline /ncome Tax
Withholding: Information Returns.

Disclosure notification

Upon written request from the chairman of a
North Dakota legislative standing committee
or Legislative Management, the law requires
the Office of State Tax Commissioner to
disclose the amount of any deduction or
credit claimed on a tax return. Any other
confidential information, such as a taxpayer’s
name or federal employer identification
number, may not be disclosed.

Use of information

All of the information on Form 58 and its
attachments is confidential by law and cannot
be given to others except as provided by

state law. Information about the partners

is required under state law so the Office

of State Tax Commissioner can determine
the partner’s correct North Dakota taxable
income and verify if the partner has filed a
return and paid the tax.

General
instructions for
completing
Form 58

Complete Form 58 as
follows:

1. Complete Federal Form 1065 (or
1065-B) in its entirety.

2. Complete Items A through J at
the top of page 1 of Form 58—see
page 4.

3. Complete Schedule FACT on page 2 of
Form 58—see page 5.

4. Complete Schedule K on page 3 of
Form 58—see page 6.

5. Complete Schedule KP on page 5 of
Form 58—see page 9.

6. Complete lines 1 through 12 on
page 1 of Form 58—see page 11.

7. Complete Schedule K-1, if required,
for the partners—see page 11.

Rounding of numbers. Numbers may be
entered on the return in dollars and cents, or
they may be rounded to the nearest whole
dollar. If rounding, drop the cents if less

than 50 cents and round up to the next whole
dollar amount if 50 cents or higher. For
example, $25.36 becomes $25.00, and $25.50
becomes $26.00.

Fiscal year filers. The tax year for North
Dakota income tax purposes must be the
same as the tax year used for federal income
tax purposes. Use the 2019 Form 58 if the
partnership’s taxable year began in the 2019
calendar year. Note: Use the 2018 Form 58 if
the taxable year began in the 2018 calendar
year.

Specific line
instructions for
page 1 of Form 58,
Items A-J)

Complete Items A through J at

the top of page 1 of Form 58.

Then complete Schedule FACT,
Schedule K, and Schedule KP before
completing lines 1 through 12 on
page 1 of Form 58.

Item A
Tax year

The same tax year used for federal income
tax purposes (as indicated on the federal
partnership return) must be used for North
Dakota income tax purposes. Fill in the
applicable circle. If the partnership uses a
fiscal year, enter the beginning and ending
dates of the fiscal year. Use the 2019 Form 58
only if the partnership’s tax year began in the
2019 calendar year.

Item B
Name and address

Enter the legal name of the partnership on
the first line of the name and address area.
If the partnership publicly operates under a
fictitious or assumed name (which, in most
states, must be recorded or registered with
the state), enter that name on the second
line of the name and address area. If filing
an amended return, enter the most current
address.

Item C
Federal EIN

North Dakota uses the federal employer
identification number (FEIN or federal EIN)
for identification purposes. Enter the federal
employer identification number from page 1
of Federal Form 1065.

Item D
Business code number

Enter the business code number from the
NAICS code list found on the Office of
State Tax Commissioner’s website at
www.nd.gov/tax. Enter the code that most
closely describes the industry in which the
partnership derives most of its income.

Item E
Date business started

Enter the date the business started from
page 1 of Federal Form 1065.

Item F
Indicators

Fill in applicable circles, as follows:

Initial return. Fill in circle if this is the
first return filed in North Dakota by the
partnership.

Final return. Fill in circle if this is the last
return to be filed in North Dakota by this
partnership.

Farming/ranching partnership. Fill in
circle if this is an LLC that is registered as
a farming and ranching LLC with the North
Dakota Secretary of State.



Filed by an LLC. Fill in circle if the entity
filing this return is a limited liability company
(LLO).

Composite return. Fill in this circle only

if (1) the partnership has one or more
nonresident partners eligible to be included in
a composite filing and (2) all of them elected
to include their distributive shares of North
Dakota source income in a composite filing.
See “Composite filing” on page 3 for more
information.

Amended return. Fill in circle if this return
is being filed to correct a previously filed

2019 Form 58. See “Correcting a previously
filed return” on page 3 for more information.

Extension. Fill in circle if a federal or state
extension of time to file the return was
obtained. See “Extension of time to file” on
page 2 for more information.

Item G
Number of partners

Enter the total number of partners and the
number of each type of partner.

Item H
Professional service partnership

Indicate whether the partnership is a
professional service partnership. A
“professional service partnership” is a
partnership that engages in the practice of
law, accounting, medicine, or any other
profession in which the capital or the services
of employees are not a material income-
producing factor. The services performed by
the partners themselves must be the primary
income-producing factor. A professional
service partnership does not include one that
primarily engages in wholesale or retail sales
activity, manufacturing activity, or any other
type of activity in which the capital or the
services of employees are a material income-
producing factor.

Item I
Publicly traded partnership

Indicate whether the partnership is a
publicly traded partnership. A “publicly
traded partnership” is a partnership in
which interests in it are either traded on an
established securities market or are readily
tradable on a secondary market.

Item ]
Tiered partnership

Indicate whether the partnership holds an
interest in one or more other partnerships or
limited liability companies. If it does, attach a
statement to Form 58 showing the name and
federal employer identification number of
each partnership or limited liability company
in which it holds an interest.

Instructions for

Schedule FACT
(Form 58, page 2)

General instructions

All partnerships must complete the applicable
portions of Schedule FACT.

If the partnership has ONLY individual,
estate, and trust partners, complete Schedule
FACT as follows:

e 100% North Dakota partnership
If the partnership conducted all of its
business within North Dakota during the
tax year, skip lines 1 through 13 and enter
“1.000000” on line 14.

* Multistate partnership
If the partnership conducted its trade or
business both within and without North
Dakota during the tax year, complete
lines 1 through 14. However, if all
of the partners consist of only North
Dakota resident individuals, estates, and
trusts, skip lines 1 through 13 and enter
“1.000000” on line 14.

If the partnership has a partner OTHER
THAN an individual, estate, or trust, complete
lines 1 through 14 of Schedule FACT.

Apportionment factor in
general

In general, the apportionment factor is

a product of a formula consisting of an
equally-weighted average of three factors:
property, payroll, and sales. Each factor
represents the percentage of the partnership’s
North Dakota activity compared to its total
activity everywhere. A partnership multiplies
its business income by the apportionment
factor to determine the portion of its business
income attributable to North Dakota.

If the partnership includes the distributable
share of income from another partnership in
its apportionable business income, include in
the numerator and denominator of each factor
the partnership’s proportionate share of the
other partnership’s apportionment factors—
see the specific line instructions for more
information. Do not include in the factors any
property, payroll, or sales related to allocable
nonbusiness income—see the instructions

to Form 58, Schedule K, line 25, for what
constitutes allocable nonbusiness income.

If the amount of any factor’s denominator is
zero, exclude that factor from the calculation.

Special apportionment rules may apply

in the case of certain industries or unique
circumstances. For additional information
on the apportionment factor, see N.D.C.C.
ch. 57-38.1 and N.D. Admin. Code

ch. 81-03-09.

Specific line instructions
Property Factor

Lines 1 through 6
Owned and rented property

Enter on the applicable line the average value
of real and tangible personal property owned
and rented by the partnership. For owned
property, this generally means the average of
the original cost (before depreciation) used
for federal income tax purposes. For rented
property, this generally means the amount of
rent paid multiplied by eight. Certain property
items are subject to special rules. Do not
include amounts related to construction in
progress. Include on line 5 the partnership’s
share of the property factor from a North
Dakota Schedule K-1 (Form 58), Part 6.

The average value of owned and rented
property is assigned to North Dakota if the
property is located in North Dakota. The
amount attributable to mobile property is
generally assignable to North Dakota based
on a ratio of the property’s time spent in
North Dakota. For more complete information
on the property factor, see N.D. Admin. Code
§§ 81-03-09-15 through 81-03-09-21 and
81-03-09-33.

Payroll Factor

Line 8

Enter the amount of total compensation paid
to employees for the tax year. This includes
gross wages, salaries, commissions, and

any other form of remuneration paid to the
employees. Use the amount before deductions
for deferred compensation, flexible spending
plans, and other payroll deductions. Do

not include amounts paid for employee
benefit plans that are not considered taxable
wages to the employee. An employee is an
individual treated as an employee under the
usual common law rules, which generally
mirror an individual’s status for purposes of
unemployment compensation and the Federal
Insurance Contribution Act. Do not include
on this line guaranteed payments to partners.



Compensation of an employee’s services
performed entirely within North Dakota is
assigned to North Dakota. For an employee
whose services are performed in more than
one state, compensation is generally assigned
to North Dakota based on the amount of
compensation reported to North Dakota

for unemployment compensation purposes.
Whether or not state income tax was withheld
from an employee’s compensation does not
affect where the compensation is assigned
for apportionment factor purposes. Include
on this line in the applicable column the
partnership’s share of the payroll factor from
a North Dakota Schedule K-1 (Form 58),
Part 6. For more complete information on

the payroll factor, see N.D. Admin. Code

§§ 81-03-09-22 through 81-03-09-25.

Sales Factor

Line 9
Everywhere sales

Enter the partnership’s total sales or receipts,
less returns or allowances, for the tax year.
Sales generally means all gross receipts of
a partnership. However, the types of sales
or gross receipts included in the sales factor
depend on the nature of the partnership’s
regular business activities and may include
amounts other than sales reported on

Form 1065, line 1. Include on this line

the partnership’s share of the everywhere
sales from a North Dakota Schedule K-1
(Form 58), Part 6.

Line 10
North Dakota sales

For sales of tangible property, the sale is
assigned to North Dakota if the destination
of the property is in North Dakota, regardless
of the shipping terms. For sales of other

than tangible property, the sale is assigned

to North Dakota if the income-producing
activity which gave rise to the receipt is
performed in North Dakota. Include on

this line the partnership’s share of the

North Dakota sales from a North Dakota
Schedule K-1 (Form 58), Part 6. For more
complete information, see N.D. Admin. Code
§§ 81-03-09-26 through 81-03-09-31 and
81-03-09-34.

Line 11
Throwback sales

Enter the amount of sales shipped from a
location in North Dakota that are delivered
to the U.S. government or to another state or

country where the sales are not subject to a
tax measured by income in that jurisdiction.
For more complete information, see N.D.
Admin. Code §§ 81-03-09-29 and
81-03-09-30.

Line 14
Apportionment factor

Divide line 13 by the number of factors
having an amount greater than zero in
column 1 on lines 7, 8, and 12. Enter the
result on this line.

Instructions for

Schedule K
(Form 58, page 3)

All partnerships must complete Schedule K.
The purpose of this schedule is to show the
total amount of North Dakota adjustments,
credits, and other items distributable to its
partners. These items may be applicable to
the preparation of the partners’ North Dakota
income tax returns.

Schedule K-1 from another passthrough
entity. Include on the applicable lines

of Schedule K any adjustments, credits,
etc., from a North Dakota Schedule K-1,
as instructed in the partner or beneficiary
instructions to that form.

Reminder: Be sure to attach to Form 58
any prescribed schedule or other supporting
document specified in the instructions.

Property tax clearance

North Dakota Century Code § 57-01-

15.1 provides that, before certain state

tax incentives may be claimed, a taxpayer
must obtain a property tax clearance record
from each North Dakota county in which
the taxpayer holds a 50 percent or more
ownership interest in real property. The
property tax clearance record(s) must be
attached to the North Dakota tax return on
which the incentive is claimed. Certain tax
incentives on Form 58, Schedule K, are
subject to this requirement. The incentives
subject to this requirement are identified in
the box at the top of Schedule K.

If the partnership is claiming any of the
specified incentives, it must complete the
property tax clearance section at the top of
Schedule K. If the partnership is required to
attach a property tax clearance record, obtain
one by completing the form Property Tax
Clearance Record, which is available on the
Office of State Tax Commissioner’s website.

Line 1
Income from state, local, and
foreign securities and bonds

Enter on this line interest and dividend
income from state, local, and foreign
securities and bonds that is exempt from
federal income tax. Do not include interest
income from securities or bonds issued by
North Dakota or its political subdivisions.
Do not enter on this line any income that
is treated as nonbusiness income subject to
allocation under N.D.C.C. §§ 57-38.1-04
through 57-38.1-08. Include the nonbusiness
income on Schedule K, line 23.

Line 2
State and local income taxes

Enter on this line the taxes measured by
income that were incurred by the partnership
and deducted in calculating the partnership’s
ordinary income (loss). Include franchise

or privilege taxes measured by income paid
to any taxing authority, including a foreign
country.

Line 3
Interest from U.S. obligations

Enter on this line interest income from U.S.
obligations and from securities the interest
from which is specifically exempted from
state income tax by federal statute. Include
the portion of dividend income from a mutual
fund attributable to the fund’s investment in
the same kinds of securities.

Do not enter on this line interest income

from securities of the Federal Home Loan
Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac), Federal
National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae),
Government National Mortgage Association
(Ginnie Mae), or from a federal income tax
refund or repurchase agreement. Attach a
statement identifying the specific securities
from which the interest was derived.

Line 4a
Renaissance zone exemption
(Projects approved before 8/1/13)

Enter on this line the amount from
Schedule RZ, Part 7, line 1c. Attach
Schedule RZ.

Line 4b
Renaissance zone exemption
(Projects approved after 7/31/13)

Enter on this line the amount from
Schedule RZ, Part 7, line 1h. Attach
Schedule RZ.



Line 5
New or expanding business income
exemption

If the partnership qualified for the new or
expanding business income exemption under
N.D.C.C. ch. 40-57.1, enter the exempt
portion of the partnership’s business income.
See N.D. Admin. Code § 81-03-01.1-06 for
guidance on calculating the amount of the
exempt income. Attach a statement showing
the calculation of the exempt income.

Line 6
Eminent domain gain

Enter on this line the taxable portion of a gain
from the disposition of property due to the
exercise of eminent domain.

Line 7a
Renaissance zone historic property
preservation tax credit

Enter on this line the amount from
Schedule RZ, Part 7, line 4. Attach
Schedule RZ.

Line 7b
Renaissance fund organization
investment tax credit

Enter on this line the amount from
Schedule RZ, Part 7, line 5. Attach
Schedule RZ.

Line 7c
Renaissance zone nonparticipating
property owner tax credit

Enter on this line the amount from
Schedule RZ, Part 7, line 6. Attach
Schedule RZ.

Line 8
Seed capital investment tax credit

If the partnership invested in a qualified
business for purposes of the seed capital
investment tax credit, multiply the total
amount invested during the 2019 tax year
by 45% and enter the result on this line.
See N.D.C.C. ch. 57-38.5. Attach a copy
of the Qualified Seed Capital Business
Investment Reporting Form. Or, if
claiming a seed capital investment credit
from a North Dakota Schedule K-1, attach
a statement identifying the qualified
business in which the investment was
made.

Line 9
Ag commodity investment tax credit

If the partnership invested in a qualified
business for purposes of the agricultural
commodity processing facility investment

tax credit, multiply the total amount invested
during the 2019 tax year by 30% and enter the
result on this line. The partnership is allowed
no more than $250,000 in total credits for

investments made in tax years 2005 and
after. See N.D.C.C. ch. 57-38.6. Attach a
copy of the Ag Commodity Processing
Facility Investment Reporting Form. Or,
if claiming an agricultural commodity
processing facility investment credit from
a North Dakota Schedule K-1, attach a
statement identifying the facility in which
the investment was made.

Line 10
Biodiesel or green diesel fuel
blending tax credit

If the partnership is a licensed supplier of
biodiesel or green diesel fuel, it is allowed

a credit equal to five cents per gallon for
blending biodiesel or green diesel fuel having
at least a 5% blend (“B5”) that meets ASTM
specifications. The blending must be done in
North Dakota. For this purpose, a “supplier”
means a person who distributes the biodiesel
or green diesel fuel from a terminal in North
Dakota. Enter the credit on this line. See
N.D.C.C. § 57-38-01.22. Attach a statement
showing the calculation of the credit.

Line 11
Biodiesel or green diesel fuel sales
equipment tax credit

If the partnership is a licensed seller of
biodiesel or green diesel fuel, it is allowed a
credit equal to 10% of the costs to adapt or
add equipment to its North Dakota facility to
enable it to sell diesel fuel having at least a
2% biodiesel or green diesel blend (“B2”) that
meets ASTM specifications. For this purpose,
a “seller” means a person who acquires the
fuel from a wholesale supplier or distributor
for resale to a consumer at a retail location.
Except for costs incurred before January 1,
2005, include eligible costs incurred before
the tax year in which sales of the eligible
biodiesel or green diesel fuel begin. The
credit is allowed in each of five tax years,
starting with the tax year in which sales of the
eligible biodiesel or green diesel fuel begin.
Enter the credit on this line. See N.D.C.C.

§ 57-38-01.23. Attach a statement showing
the calculation of the credit.

Line 12
Wind energy device tax credit

Complete this line only if either of the
following apply:

* The partnership commenced installation
of a qualifying wind energy device before
January 1, 2015, the installation was
completed prior to January 1, 2017, and
the 2019 tax year is one of the five tax
years in which the credit is allowed for the
installation.

* The partnership is claiming an allowable
wind energy device tax credit from a North
Dakota Schedule K-1.

For more information, see N.D.C.C.

§ 57-38-01.8. Attach a statement with a
description of the device, a detailed list of
the costs of acquisition and installation,
and the date the device was completely
installed.

Line 13
Employer internship program tax
credit

If the partnership hired an eligible college
student under a qualifying internship program
set up in North Dakota, it is allowed a

credit equal to 10% of the compensation

paid to the intern. For details, see N.D.C.C.

§ 57-38-01.24. The partnership is allowed no
more than $3,000 of credits for all tax years.

Line 13a. Enter the allowable credit on this
line.

Line 13b. Enter the number of eligible interns
hired during the 2019 tax year. Disregard this
line if the credit is from a passthrough entity.

Line 13c. Enter on this line the total
compensation paid to eligible interns during
the 2019 tax year (as shown on their 2019
Form W-25s). Disregard this line if the credit
is from a passthrough entity.

Line 14
Research expense tax credit

A credit is allowed for conducting qualified
research in North Dakota. For details, see
N.D.C.C. § 57-38-30.5. Enter the allowable
credit on this line. Attach a statement
showing the computation of the base
amount and the credit.

Line 15
Endowment fund tax credit

A tax credit is allowed for making a
contribution to a qualified endowment fund.
For more information, see Schedule QEC (for
filers of Forms 38, 40, 58, and 60) Attach
Schedule QEC.

Lines 15a and 15b. Enter on these lines the
applicable amounts from Schedule QEC.

Lines 15¢ and 15d. Enter on these lines

an endowment fund credit and the related
contribution amount shown on a North
Dakota Schedule K-1 received from an estate,
trust, partnership, or S corporation.



Line 16
Workforce recruitment tax credit

If the partnership employs extraordinary
recruitment methods to hire an employee to
fill a hard-to-fill position in North Dakota,

it is allowed a tax credit equal to 5% of the
compensation paid during the first 12 months
to the employee hired to fill that position. The
credit may be claimed in the first taxable year
beginning after the employee completes the
first 12 consecutive months of employment.
For details, see N.D.C.C. § 57-38-01.25.

Line 16a. Enter the allowable credit on this
line.

Line 16b. Enter the number of eligible
employees whose first 12 months of
employment ended during the partnership’s
2018 tax year.

Line 16c. Enter the total compensation paid
to the eligible employees’ during their first 12
consecutive months of employment ending in
the partnership’s 2018 tax year.

Line 17

Credit for wages paid to a mobilized
employee

Enter on this line the amount from

Schedule ME, line 13. N.D.C.C. § 57-38-31.
Attach Schedule ME.

Lines 18 through 20
Nonprofit private school tax credits

Tax credits are allowed under N.D.C.C.

§ 57-38-01.7 for making charitable
contributions to qualifying nonprofit private
primary schools, high schools, and colleges
located in North Dakota. A separate credit is
allowed for each of the three categories of
school—primary school, high school, and
college. For each category of school, the
credit equals 50% of the contributions made
to all eligible schools within the category.
(Note: For a partner other than another
passthrough entity, additional limitations
on the allowable credit apply at the partner
level.) A list of the eligible schools within
each of the three categories of schools is
provided on page 14.

Election. A partnership may elect, on a
contribution by contribution basis, to treat a
contribution as having been made during the
2019 tax year if it is made on or before the
due date, including extensions, for filing the
2019 Form 58. Make the election by attaching
to the return a document containing the
following:

1. A statement that the election is being
made.
2. Name of qualifying school.

3. Date of contribution.
4.  Amount of contribution.

To qualify, a contribution must be made
directly to, or specifically designated for the
exclusive use of, a qualifying school.

School network or organization. If a
contribution is made payable to the account
or fund of a school network or organization
that governs or benefits multiple schools,

the contribution will qualify only if the
partnership specifically designates it for the
use of a qualifying school, and the network or
organization separately accounts for the funds
on behalf of that school. The partnership
must obtain a statement from the network

or organization that identifies the qualifying
school and the amount contributed to it. If the
qualifying school falls into both the primary
and high school categories, also see the next
paragraph.

Schools in both primary and high school
categories. If a contribution is made to a
qualifying school that provides education in
one or more grades in both the primary school
category (kindergarten through 8th grades)
and the high school category (9th through
12th grades), a separate credit is allowed for
the portion of the contribution designated

for use within each school category. The
partnership must obtain a statement from

the qualifying school or the school network
or organization that identifies the qualifying
school and shows the amount contributed
within each category of school. If the
partnership does not obtain a statement, one-
half of the total contribution will be deemed
to have been made to each category of school.

Line 18. Enter on this line the allowable
credit for contributions to qualified nonprofit
private primary schools.

Line 19. Enter on this line the allowable
credit for contributions to qualified nonprofit
private high schools.

Line 20. Enter on this line the allowable
credit for contributions to qualified nonprofit
private colleges.

Line 21
Angel investor investment credit

Important! This line is only for credits
attributable to investments made in qualified
businesses by angel funds organized and
certified on or after July 1, 2017.

If a partnership is a member of a North
Dakota angel fund that is organized and
certified on or after July 1, 2017, a credit is

allowed to the partnership if it participates
in a qualified investment made by the angel
fund in a qualified business. The angel fund
is required to provide a Participating Angel
Investor Statement to the partnership, which
evidences the partnership’s investment. For
qualified investments made after June 30,
2017, that fall into the partnership’s 2019
tax year, multiply the investment amount

by the applicable credit rate shown on the
statement. If a partnership participates in
more than one qualified investment during
the tax year, calculate the credit separately for
each Participating Angel Investor Statement
received and add the separately calculated
amounts.

Enter the credit amount on this line. Do not
enter on this line an angel investor credit
from a North Dakota Schedule K-1. A
partnership is not allowed to claim an angel
investor credit from another passthrough
entity. See N.D.C.C. § 57-38-01.26 (effective
for investments made after June 30, 2017).

Attach a copy of the Participating Angel
Investor Investment Statement.

Line 22
Automation tax credit

Important! This line only applies to the
automation income tax credit program in
effect for the 2019 through 2022 tax years.

If the partnership qualified for the automation
tax credit under N.D.C.C. § 57-38-01.36,
enter on this line the amount of the credit
shown on the credit approval letter issued to
the partnership by the North Dakota Office of
State Tax Commissioner.

Line 23

Credit for hiring an individual with a
developmental disability or mental
iliness

A tax credit is available for employing an
individual with a developmental disability
or mental illness. To qualify, an employer
must apply for and obtain certification from
the North Dakota Department of Human
Services, Vocational Rehabilitation Division,
that the individual has a severe disability,

is eligible for the agency’s services, and
requires customized employment to become
employed. The credit is equal to 25% of the
wages paid to the individual during the tax
year, up to a maximum credit of $1,500 per
year. The credit is allowed for each eligible
individual hired. Attach a copy of the
certification letter from Human Services.



Line 24
Professional service partnership
guaranteed payments

Lines 24a through 24c¢ apply only if the
partnership marked “Yes” to Item H on
page 1 of Form 58. See the instructions to
Form 58, page 1, Item H, on page 5.

Line 24a. Enter the total guaranteed payments
from Federal Form 1065, Schedule K, line 4.

Line 24b. Enter the portion of the amount on
line 24a that was made to individual partners
as a reasonable salary for personal services,
regardless of where the services were
performed. Do not include any guaranteed
payments for other than personal services.

Line 24c. Enter the portion of the amount
on line 24b that was made to nonresident
individual partners for personal services
performed within North Dakota.

Line 25
Allocable nonbusiness income

Lines 25a and 25b apply only if the
partnership meets all of the following:

It is a multistate partnership, i.e., it carries
on its trade or business activity both within
and without North Dakota.

» It has one or more nonresident individual,
estate, or trust partners.

It has allocable nonbusiness income.
Generally, all income received by a
partnership is considered business
income unless clearly classifiable as
nonbusiness income. The classification
of income by the labels used to describe
it—for example, interest, dividends,
rents, royalties, operating income, or
nonoperating income—is generally not
relevant in determining whether income
is business or nonbusiness income. For
more information, see N.D. Admin. Code
§ 81-03-09-03.

Nonbusiness income is not apportioned using
the apportionment factor (from Schedule
FACT) but is allocated within or without
North Dakota as provided under N.D.C.C.

§§ 57-38.1-04 through 57-38.1-08 and N.D.
Admin. Code § 81-03-09-09. Expenses must
be attributed to the nonbusiness income in

a manner which fairly distributes all of the
partnership’s expenses to its business and
nonbusiness income.

If the partnership has an item of nonbusiness
income subject to allocation, the partnership
must take this into account when calculating

the North Dakota distributive share of income
or loss reportable on Schedule KP and
Schedule K-1 (Form 58). See the instructions
to Schedule KP, Column 6, on page 10 for
more information. In addition to completing
lines 25a and 25b, the partnership must attach
the following to Form 58:

e A statement on which each item of
nonbusiness income is shown along with
its related expenses.

* A statement explaining the basis for
treating the item of income as nonbusiness
income subject to allocation.

e If an item of nonbusiness income is
allocated to a state other than North
Dakota, a copy of that other state’s
income tax return must be attached. If
the partnership is not required to file an
income tax return with the other state,
the partnership must indicate this in the
attached statement.

Line 25a. Enter the total allocable income
(less related expenses) from all sources within
and without North Dakota.

Line 25b. Enter the portion of the amount on
line 25a that is allocable to North Dakota.

Line 26

Disposition of I.R.C. Section 179
property

Lines 26a through 26d apply only if the
partnership sold, exchanged, or disposed of
property for which an I.R.C. Section 179
deduction was passed through to the partners.
Note: The partnership is required to report
this same information on a separate statement
attached to Federal Form 1065, Schedule K,
line 20c.

For lines 26a through 26d, multiply the
corresponding combined amount for all
partners as reported on Federal Form 1065,
Schedule K, line 20c, by the apportionment
factor from Schedule FACT, line 14, and enter
the result. However, if the property disposed
of is treated as a nonbusiness asset the gain or
loss from which is subject to allocation under
N.D.C.C. §§ 57-38.1-04 through 57-38.1-08,
subtract the amounts for that asset before
multiplying by the apportionment factor.
Include the nonbusiness gain or loss from the
disposition on Form 58, Schedule K, line 25.

Instructions for

Schedule KP
(Form 58, page 5)

Schedule KP must be completed to provide
information about each partner. If the
partnership has more than seven partners,
complete and attach additional schedules as
needed to list all partners. If more than one
Schedule KP is needed, complete lines 1
through 4 on only one of them, and include
the combined amount for all of the schedules
on that one schedule.

All Partners
(Columns 1 through 5)

Columns 1 and 2

Enter the name, mailing address, and
partner’s identifying number as shown on the
partner’s Federal Schedule K-1. If the partner
is a single member limited liability company
(LLC) that is a disregarded entity for federal
income tax purposes, enter the owner’s name,
address, and identifying number.

Column 3
Identify the entity type of the partner by
entering the applicable code letter as follows:

Entity type Code letter
Individual .....c..ccoceniiiininnnne. |
C corporation ............ceeceevenene C
S corporation..........c.ceeceecvennene S
Partnership .......ccccevvveeiennne. P
Estate......ccccoovvivieniniiiiiinne E
TIUSE e T
Exempt organization................ o

Note: A “C corporation” is a corporation
that files Federal Form 1120; an “S
corporation” is a corporation that files
Federal Form 11208, and the “Trust” entity
type only applies to a trust that files Federal
Form 1041 or, in lieu of filing Federal
Form 1041, elects an alternative reporting
method under the federal income tax
regulations.

If the partner is a limited liability company
(LLC) that is a disregarded entity for federal
income tax purposes or a nominee on Federal
Schedule K-1, enter the code letter for the
type of entity of the entity’s owner. If the LLC
is treated like a C corporation, partnership,

or S corporation, enter the code letter for that
particular entity type.
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Column 4

Enter the partner’s ownership percentage as
provided in the partnership agreement. (7his
percentage may differ from the partners
profit or loss percentage.)

Column 5

Enter the sum of the following items from the
partner’s Federal Schedule K-1 (Form 1065),
Part II:

Box 1 Ordinary business income (loss)
Box 2 Net rental real estate income (loss)
Box 3  Other net rental income (loss)

Box 4  Guaranteed payments

Box 5 Interest income

Box 6a Ordinary dividends

Box 7 Royalties

Box 8 Net short-term capital gain (loss)

Box 9a Net long-term capital gain (loss)

Box 10 Net section 1231 gain (loss)

Box 11 Other income (loss)

Box 12 Section 179 deduction

Box 13 Other deductions (In the case of an
individual, trust, or estate partner,
only include deductions that are
allowed as a deduction from gross
income in calculating adjusted
gross income for federal income tax
purposes.)

Box 20 Include the gain (loss) from
an L.R.C. Section 179 property
disposition. For purposes of
calculating the gain or loss, include
all of the Section 179 deduction
passed through to the partner,
regardless of whether or not the
partner actually deducted all of it.

Nonresident Partners and
Tax-Exempt Organization
Partners Only

(Columns 6 through 8)

For purposes of Columns 6 through 8, a
nonresident partner means:

¢ an individual who is not domiciled in
North Dakota;

+ atrust, including a grantor trust, that is
not organized under North Dakota law.
This only includes trusts that are subject to
income tax; or

» apassthrough entity that has a commercial
domicile outside North Dakota. A
passthrough entity includes a partnership,
S corporation, limited liability company
treated like a partnership or S corporation,
and any other similar entity.

e

2. Professional service partnership only:
Guaranteed payments for services only

Worksheet for Schedule KP, Column 6
For nonresident partners and tax-exempt organization partners only—see
instructions to Schedule KP, Column 6.

1. Partner’s amount from Schedule KP, Column 5.......ccccviiiiiiiiiininennn. 1

included in the amount on line 1................ 2
3. Allocable income (less related expenses)
included in the amount on line 1............... 3
4. Interest from U.S. obligations included
in the amountonline 1.......cooovviiiiiiiiiinnns 4
5. Add liN€S 2, 3, @Nd 4 ..oviiiiiiiiii i e 5
6. Apportionable income (loss). Subtract line 5 from line 1................. 6
7. Apportionment factor from Schedule FACT, line 14..........cccoivennns 7_.
8. Multiply [iN€ 6 by lIN€ 7. neniiiiiiiie e 8
9. Professional service partnership only: Guaranteed payments
for services performed within North Dakota ........................... 9
10. Allocable income (less related expenses) reportable to
North Dakota ..............ooiiiiiii e 10
\11. Add lines 8, 9 and 10. Enter result in Column 6.........cccvvvvvevinnnnen 11 /

For a tax-exempt organization partner, only
report its distributive share of North Dakota
income in Column 6. Columns 7 and 8 do not
apply to a tax-exempt organization partner.

Column 6
Nonresident partner and tax-exempt
organization partner only

Complete Column 6 for each nonresident
partner and tax-exempt organization
partner. Except as provided below, multiply
the partner’s amount in Column 5 by the
apportionment factor from Schedule FACT,
line 14, and enter the result in Column 6.

Exception: Complete the Worksheet for
Schedule KP, Column 6 on this page to
calculate the amount to enter in Column 6 if
any of the following apply:

» The partnership is a professional service
partnership that made guaranteed
payments for services performed by
nonresident individual partners. These
payments are not apportioned, but are
allocated to the state where the services
were performed by the partner. See the
instructions to Form 58, page 1, Item H,
on page 5 for more information.

* The partnership has an item of
nonbusiness income subject to allocation.
See the instructions to Form 58,
Schedule K, line 25, on page 9 for more
information.

¢ The amount in Column 5 includes interest
from U.S. obligations.

Column 7
Nonresident partner only

If a nonresident partner’s distributive share of
North Dakota income in Column 6 is $1,000
or more, multiply the amount in Column 6

by 2.90% (.029) and enter the result in
Column 7. However, the following exceptions

apply:

» If a nonresident partner gives you a
completed Form PWA, enter the amount
from line 5 of Form PWA in Column 7 and
fill in the circle under “Form PWA or Form
PWE.”

» If a nonresident partner gives you a
completed Form PWE, leave Column 7
blank and fill in the circle under
“Form PWA or Form PWE.”

» If a nonresident partner elected to be
included in a composite filing, leave
Column 7 blank and see the instructions to
Column 8.

See “Withholding from nonresident partners”
on page 3 for more information.

Column 8
Nonresident partner only

Note: Leave Column 8 blank if Column 7 was
completed for the nonresident partner.

Complete Column 8 for each nonresident
partner electing to be included in a composite
filing. Multiply the amount in Column 6

by 2.90% (.029) and enter the result in
Column 8. If the amount in Column 6 is

zero or less, enter zero in Column 8. See
“Composite filing” on page 3 for more
information.



Specific line
instructions for
page 1 of Form 58,
lines 1-12

Complete Schedule FACT,

Schedule K, and Schedule KP before
completing lines 1 through 12 on
page 1 of Form 58.

Line 4
Income tax withholding

Enter the North Dakota income tax
withholding shown on a 2019 Form 1099 or
North Dakota Schedule K-1. Be sure the state
identified on the Form 1099 is North Dakota.
Also enter the North Dakota income tax
withholding shown on a 2018 North Dakota
Schedule K-1 if the entity that issued it has

a fiscal tax year ending in the partnership’s
2019 tax year. Do not enter on this line
North Dakota extraction or production taxes
withheld from mineral interest income,

such as an oil or gas royalty, because they
are not income taxes. Attach a copy of the
Form 1099 or North Dakota Schedule K-1.

Line 5
Estimated tax payments

Enter the amount paid with the 2019

Forms 58-EXT and 58-ES plus any
overpayment applied from the 2018 Form 58.
However, if filing an amended return, do

not enter any previously paid estimated tax
amount; instead, enter the amount of the total
taxes due from line 3 of the previously filed
original or amended return.

Line 8
Application of overpayment to 2020

If there is an overpayment on line 7, the
partnership may elect to apply part or all of

it as an estimated payment toward its 2020
tax liability. To make the election, enter the
portion of line 7 to be applied on line 8. If this
election is made, the election and the amount
applied may not be changed after the return

is filed. If this is an amended return, do not
make an entry on this line.

Line 10
Tax due

A tax due must be paid in full with the return
when the return is filed. See the instructions to
line 12 for payment options.

Line 11
Penalty and interest

The Office of State Tax Commissioner will
notify the partnership of any penalty and
interest payable on a tax due shown on

Form 58. However, the partnership may
calculate the penalty and interest amounts and
include them in the balance due on Form 58.

Penalty. Calculate the penalty amount as
follows:

» If Form 58 is filed by the due date (or
extended due date), but the total amount
of tax due is not paid with the return, the
penalty is equal to 5% of the unpaid tax or
$5.00, whichever is greater.

» If Form 58 is filed after its due date
(or extended due date), and there is an
unpaid tax due on it, a penalty equal to
5% of the unpaid tax due (with a $5.00
minimum) applies for the month the return
was due, plus 5% of the unpaid tax due
(with a $5.00 minimum) for each month
or fraction of a month the return remains
unfiled, not to exceed the greater of 25%
of the unpaid tax due or $25.00.

Interest. Calculate the interest amount as
follows:

» If an extension of time to file Form 58 was
obtained, extension interest is calculated
at the rate of 12% per year on any tax
due from the due date of the return to the
earlier of the extended due date or the date
the return was filed.

 If the total amount of tax due is not paid
by the due date (or extended due date) of
the return, interest is calculated at the rate
of 1% per month or fraction of a month
on the unpaid tax, except for the month in
which the return was due.

Line 12

Balance due

The balance due must be paid in full with
the return. The payment may be made
electronically in one of the following ways.

* Online—A payment may be made online
with an electronic check or a debit or
credit card. The electronic check option
is free. North Dakota contracts with a
national payment service to provide the
debit or credit card option. There is a fee
for the debit or credit option, none of
which goes to the State of North Dakota.
To pay online, go to
www.nd.gov/tax/payment.
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* Electronic funds transfer—A payment
may be made by means of an Automated
Clearing House (ACH) credit transaction
that the taxpayer initiates through its
banking institution. For more information,
go to our website at www.nd.gov/tax.

If paying with a paper check or money order,
complete a 2019 Form 58-PV payment
voucher and enclose it with the payment.
Make the check or money order payable to
“ND State Tax Commissioner,” and write the
last four digits of the partnership’s FEIN and
“2019 Form 58” on the check or money order.
A check must be drawn on a U.S. or Canadian
bank, be in U.S. dollars, and use a standard
9-digit routing number. A check drawn on a
foreign bank (except one in Canada) cannot
be accepted.

Instructions
for completing
Schedule K-1

A partnership is not subject to North

Dakota income tax. Instead, the partners are
responsible for reporting and paying any
applicable North Dakota income tax on their
shares of the partnership’s income reportable
to North Dakota.

North Dakota Schedule K-1 (Form 58)

must be used by a partnership to provide

its partners with information they will

need to complete a North Dakota income

tax return. The information to be included

in the schedule will depend on the type of
partner. In the case of certain credits reported
on Schedule K-1 (Form 58), additional
supporting information must be provided with
Schedule K-1 — see the instructions to Part 3.

North Dakota Schedule K-1 (Form 58) must
be completed and given to:

» Each nonresident partner for which the
partnership is required to report the North
Dakota distributive share of income on
Form 58, Schedule KP, Column 6.

» Each partner to which a share of a North
Dakota adjustment or tax credit from
Form 58, Schedule K, lines 1 through 23,
is distributable.

+ Each partnership or corporation partner
for the purpose of reporting a share of

the apportionment factors from Form 58,
Schedule FACT.

» Each tax-exempt organization partner.
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If there are no North Dakota adjustments or
tax credits on Form 58, Schedule K, lines 1
through 23, a North Dakota Schedule K-1
does not have to be given to a North Dakota
resident individual, estate, or trust.

In addition to the North Dakota Schedule K-1
(Form 58), the partnership must provide

the partner with a copy of the Partner’s
Instructions for North Dakota Schedule K-1
(Form 58).

A copy of all North Dakota Schedule K-1
forms must be enclosed with Form 58 along
with any required supporting statements.

Amended schedule. If a partnership files an
amended Form 58, the partnership must issue
amended North Dakota Schedule K-1 forms
to its partners. Fill in the “Amended” circle
at the top of the North Dakota Schedule K-1
(Form 58).

Final schedule. Fill in the “Final” circle at
the top of the North Dakota Schedule K-1
(Form 58) if it is the last one to be issued by
the partnership to the partner.

Part 2
Partner information

Item E
Enter the code letter for the partner from
Form 58, Schedule KP, Column 3.

Item F

If the partner is an individual, estate, or trust,
fill in the applicable circle to indicate the
legal residency status of the partner for North
Dakota income tax purposes. If an individual
partner changed his or her legal residency to
or from North Dakota during the tax year,
mark the part-year resident status. In the case
of an estate or trust partner, only the full-year
resident or full-year nonresident status will

apply.

Item G

For an eligible nonresident partner, indicate
whether the partner is included in a composite
filing by filling in the applicable circle.

Item I
Enter the partner’s ownership percentage
from Form 58, Schedule KP, Column 4.

Part 3
All partners—
North Dakota adjustments

and tax credits

If there are any North Dakota adjustments or
tax credits on Form 58, Schedule K, lines 1
through 23, complete this part for all partners.

Lines 1 and 2

Enter on the corresponding lines the amount
determined by multiplying each amount
shown on Form 58, Schedule K, lines 1 and 2,
by the same percentage used to determine the
partner’s distributive share of income (loss)
from the partnership.

Lines 3 through 5

Enter on the corresponding lines the partner’s
share of each amount shown on Form 58,
Schedule K, lines 3 through 5.

Line 6

Enter on this line the amount determined
by multiplying the amount on Form 58,
Schedule K, line 6, by the same percentage
used to determine the partner’s distributive
share of income (loss) from the partnership.

Lines 7 through 23

Enter on the corresponding lines the

partner’s share of each amount shown on
Form 58, Schedule K, lines 7 through 23.
Also, for the following lines, additional
supporting information must be provided with
Schedule K-1:

Lines 8 and 9. Provide a statement
identifying the qualified business or qualified
agricultural commodity processing facility in
which the qualifying investment was made.

Line 15. Provide a statement identifying
the qualified nonprofit organization and
the qualified endowment fund to which the
qualifying contribution was made.

Line 21. Provide a statement identifying the
angel fund that made the qualified investment
in the qualified business.

Part 4

Nonresident individual,
estate, or trust partner
only— North Dakota income
(loss)

Complete Part 4 for a nonresident individual,
estate, or trust partner.

Line 24
Partnership’s apportionment factor

Enter the partnership’s apportionment factor
from Form 58, Schedule FACT, line 14.

Lines 25 through 38
Income and loss items

Except as provided under Exceptions 1
through 3 below, multiply the corresponding
amount from the partner’s Federal

Schedule K-1, Part III, boxes 1 through 13,
and any L.LR.C. § 179 property disposition

gain (loss) included in box 20 by the
partnership’s apportionment factor from
Schedule FACT, line 14, and enter the result
on the corresponding line of Part 4, lines 25
through 38.

For “Other deductions” from box 13

of Federal Schedule K-1, only include
deductions that are allowed as a deduction
from gross income in calculating adjusted
gross income for federal income tax purposes.

For purposes of calculating the gain or

loss for I.LR.C. § 179 property dispositions
included in box 20 of Federal Schedule K-1,
include all of the Section 179 deduction
passed through to the partner, regardless of
whether or not the partner actually deducted
all of it.

Exception 1: Professional service
partnership. If the partnership is a
professional service partnership, calculate
the amount to enter on line 28 (guaranteed
payments) by adding the following two
amounts:

* Guaranteed payments for services
performed within North Dakota by the
partner.

* Guaranteed payments for other than
personal services multiplied by the
partnership’s apportionment factor from
Schedule FACT, line 14.

Exception 2: Allocable nonbusiness
income. If the partnership treated any part
of a distributable item of income from

the partner’s Federal Schedule K-1 as
nonbusiness income subject to allocation,
calculate the amount to enter on the
corresponding line of this part in the
following steps:

1. Subtract the net nonbusiness income
(gross amount less related expenses)
from the applicable distributable amount
shown on the Federal Schedule K-1.

2. Multiply the remaining distributive
amount, if any, (from step 1) by the
partnership’s apportionment factor from
Schedule FACT, line 14.

3. Add the result (from step 2) to the
portion, if any, of the net nonbusiness
income allocable to North Dakota, and
enter the result on the corresponding line
of Part 4.

Note: If any portion of the net nonbusiness
income removed from the distributable
amount (in step 1 above) is allocable outside
North Dakota, do not enter it anywhere on
North Dakota Schedule K-1 (Form 58).



If the calculation of any amount on lines 25
through 38 of Part 4 was affected by the
removal or inclusion of net nonbusiness
income, attach a statement to the partner’s
North Dakota Schedule K-1 (Form 58)
identifying the net nonbusiness income and
showing the calculation of the amount entered
on the applicable line(s) of Part 4.

Exception 3: Interest from U.S. obligations.
Do not include interest from U.S. obligations
in determining the amount to enter on Part 4,
line 29.

Part 5
Nonresident partner and
tax-exempt organization

partner only

Complete Part 5 for a nonresident partner and
a tax-exempt organization partner for which
an amount was required to be entered on
Form 58, Schedule KP, Column 6.

Line 39
ND distributive share of income
(loss)

Enter the partner’s North Dakota distributive
share of income (loss) from Form 58,
Schedule KP, Column 6.

Line 40
ND income tax withheld

Enter the amount of North Dakota income
tax withheld from the partner’s North Dakota
distributive share of income from Form 58,
Schedule KP, Column 7.

Line 41
ND composite income tax

Enter the amount of North Dakota composite
income tax on the partner’s North Dakota
distributive share of income from Form 58,
Schedule KP, Column 8.

Part 6
Partnership or corporation

partner only

Complete Part 6 for a partner that is a
partnership, corporation, or other entity
treated like a partnership or corporation.

Line 42
North Dakota factors

Enter in the corresponding column the
partner’s share of the partnership’s North
Dakota apportionment factor amounts from
Form 58, Schedule FACT, Column 2, lines 7,
8, and 12.

Line 43
Total factors

Enter in the corresponding column the
partner’s share of the partnership’s total factor
amounts from Form 58, Schedule FACT,
Column 1, lines 7, 8, and 12.

Before you file
Form 58

Signatures

The return must be signed and dated
by a general partner or an authorized
representative of the partnership.

If the partnership pays someone other than
one of its partners or an employee of the
partnership to prepare the return, the paid
preparer also must sign and date the return.

Preparer authorization check-off
The partnership may authorize the North
Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
(Tax Department) to discuss matters
pertaining to its 2019 Form 58 with the
preparer who signed it. To do so, fill in the
circle next to the signature area in the lower
right-hand corner of page 1 of Form 58. This
authorization applies only to the individual
whose signature and printed name appear in
the paid preparer section of the signature area.
It does not apply to the firm, if any, shown in
that section.
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This authorization allows the Tax Department
to contact the preparer to answer any
questions that may arise during the
processing of the partnership’s return. It

also authorizes the preparer to respond to
questions and to provide any information
missing from the return, to contact the Tax
Department to inquire about the status of
the return’s processing and related refund or
payment, and to respond to Tax Department
notices that the partnership shares with the
preparer pertaining to math errors or return
preparation. (Tax Department notices will be
sent only to the partnership.)

This authorization automatically expires on
the due date (including extensions) for filing
the 2020 Form 58.

This authorization does not authorize the
preparer to receive a refund check, to bind
the partnership in any way (including any
additional tax liability), or to represent the
partnership before the Tax Department for
any other purpose.

Assembling a paper return
Please assemble Form 58 and its required
attachments in the following order:

Form 58.

Schedule FACT.

Schedule K.

Schedule KP.

All other required North Dakota schedules
and forms (other than North Dakota
Schedule K-1 forms).

North Dakota Schedule K-1 forms.

Required supporting statements.

8. Complete copy of Form 1065 (or 1065-B)

including Federal Schedule K-1 forms.

kWb =

N

A balance due may be paid electronically
(see page 11 of these instructions). If paying
with a paper check, enclose the check and

a Form 58-PV payment voucher with the
return.



14

Academy for Children (Fargo)

Anne Carlsen Center (Jamestown)

Bishop Ryan Catholic School (Minot)
Brentwood Adventist Christian School
(Bismarck)

Cathedral of the Holy Spirit Elementary School
(Bismarck)

Children’s Montessori Center (Fargo)

Christ the King Elementary School (Mandan)
Dakota Memorial School (Minot)

Dakota Montessori School (Fargo)

Forest River School (Fordville)

Grace Lutheran Elementary School (Fargo)
Grand Forks Montessori Academy

(Grand Forks)

Hillcrest SDA School (Jamestown)

Holy Family — St. Mary’s Elementary School
(Grand Forks)

Holy Spirit Elementary School (Fargo)

Hope Christian Academy (Dickinson)
Invitation Hill Adventist School (Dickinson)
Johnson Corners Christian Academy
(Watford City)

Little Flower Elementary School (Rugby)
Martin Luther School (Bismarck)

Missouri Valley Montessori School (Bismarck)
Nativity Elementary School (Fargo)

New Testament Baptist Christian School
(Larimore)

Oak Grove Lutheran Elementary School
(Fargo)

Anne Carlsen Center (Jamestown)
Bishop Ryan Catholic School (Minot)
Dakota Adventist Academy (Bismarck)
Dakota Memorial School (Minot)

Hope Christian Academy (Dickinson)
Johnson Corners Christian Academy
(Watford City)

New Testament Baptist Christian School
(Larimore)

Jamestown College (Jamestown)

Trinity Bible College (Ellendale)

Turtle Mountain Community College
\(Belcourt)

Qualified nonprofit private schools
(for Form 58, Schedule K, lines 18 through 20)

For purposes of the credits on Form 58, Schedule K, lines 18 through 20, the following lists the
qualifying schools in each school category. (Note: These lists are subject to change.)

Primary Schools (Grades K through 8)

Ojibwa Indian School (Belcourt)

Our Redeemer’s Christian School (Minot)
Prairie Learning Education Center (Raleigh)
Prairie Voyager Adventist School

(Grand Forks)

Red River Adventist Elementary School
(Fargo)

Shanley High-Sullivan Middle School (Fargo)
Shiloh Christian School (Bismarck)

St Alphonsus Elementary School (Langdon)
St Anne Elementary School (Bismarck)

St Ann’s Catholic School (Belcourt)

St Bernard Mission School (Fort Yates)

St Catherine Elementary School (Valley City)
St John’s Academy (Jamestown)

St John’s Elementary School (Wahpeton)

St Joseph Elementary School (Mandan)

St Joseph Elementary School (Devils Lake)
St Joseph’s Elementary School (Williston)

St. Mary’s Academy (Bismarck)

St Mary’s Elementary School (Bismarck)

St Michael’s Elementary School (Grand Forks)
The Innovation School (Bismarck)

Trinity Elementary East School (Dickinson)
Trinity Elementary North School (Dickinson)
Trinity Elementary School (West Fargo)
Trinity Elementary West School (Dickinson)
Trinity Jr/High School (Dickinson)

Victory Christian School (Jamestown)
Wichakini Owayawa Elementary School
(Fort Yates)

Williston Trinity Christian School (Williston)

High Schools (Grades 9 through 12)

Oak Grove Lutheran High School (Fargo)
Our Redeemer’s Christian School (Minot)
Prairie Learning Education Center (Raleigh)
Shanley High-Sullivan High School (Fargo)
Shiloh Christian School (Bismarck)

St Mary’s Central High School (Bismarck)
Trinity Jr/High School (Dickinson)

Williston Trinity Christian School (Williston)

Colleges (Education above 12th grade)

United Tribes Technical College (Bismarck)
University of Mary (Bismarck)

ND Independent College Fund (Bismarck)
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